We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn, but not a favorite ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Harbor Hill Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Harbor Hill Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Niantic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, but not a favorite ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Good:
We stayed in the new building which is very cute, and well appointed. Our room #13 was on the top floor and is the most expensive room at the Inn.
The Inn Keepers, and the staff, were warm and friendly.
Wine in the afternoon, cookies at night, and coffee in the morning - as well as a nice (but not gourmet) breakfast.

The Bad:
The walls are VERY thin. We arrived a 4:00 and got ready to relax when our downstairs neighbors arrived. We could hear everything they said, as well as the TV. When our neighbors next door arrived I had to put in ear plugs. This went on until after 11pm. These folks were not having parties, they were just talking, taking showers, watching TV, flushing the toilet, closing doors. It felt like I was in a nice looking room in a tenement house. This building must be made of cardboard.
The bed looked adorable but sagged in the middle, and the sheets were old and thin and not particularly soft.
No robes.
The WiFi didn't work in the room. I was told to go down to the kitchen to connect, which worked, but it kept disconnecting and I was in no mood to keep running downstairs.

I really wanted to love this place ... and it was my birthday so I really splurged getting the best room. It was really a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueandDaveLabrie, Owner at Inn at Harbor Hill Marina, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Travel4fun62,

First and foremost, thank you for your review and feedback. While no one in in the lodging and hospitality business wants to hear negative things about their property or business, we do recognize the difficulty in meeting every persons, every expectation, every time, and sincerely apologize we didn’t fully meet all your expectations.

While we recognize smaller B&B’s and inns may not provide the same level of soundproofing that one might find in a hotel constructed of concrete and steel beams, we can say that when we built/remodeled our new Captain Clark House, we did in fact build it with deeper interior walls and had the best interior wall soundproofing system we could find installed to minimize sound transfer between rooms. In all honestly, we really don’t get complaints regarding noise, but will certainly pay more attention to this issue going forward.

As for the WiFi issue, we have noticed that at times, especially when several guests try to access our WiFi network all at the same time, the network can become slower and at times even unstable. We think the cause is that more and more travelers are utilizing their mobile and tablet devices for heavier network downloading of movies and such, and is something we have already started to look into to upgrade.

Lastly, you mentioned we don’t provide robes which is 100% true. Ironically, it is an amenity we had been assessing and had decided to begin offering even prior to your stay with us. We hope to have new robes available for our guests very soon. In closing, we want to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and very much appreciate your feedback.

Our Best,
Sue and Dave Labrie, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    35
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
300
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I really needed a quick and quiet getaway and found this wonderful b&b on tripadvisor. It was everything I could wish for and more! It was country chic, comfy and cozy. My husband and I were able to relax, sleep and enjoy the local sights and restaurants. Breakfast was amazing, made to order comfort food is the only way to describe it. Home made goodies were plentiful - granola, cookies and quiche just to name a few. Wine, sodas and water are available anytime. The entire inn is immaculate (just look at all the nick nacks and u won't see a speck of dust. The staff was warm and friendly, they made us feel right at home. I am definitely going back this summer for another getaway.

Room Tip: I'm going to request room #9 the next time I go....it has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I wanted to go away for our 10 year anniversary so we found this bnb on visitct.com. At first I wasn't keen on the idea of going to a bed and breakfast because I never been to one, but we are so glad we did. Inn at Harbor hill Marina is a gem in Niantic, CT. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by staff member vicky. She took us on a lil tour of the main inn then to the Clark house were our room was. The moment you walk in you feel comfortable and the place is clean. We will be back here for the summer. Thank you Sue and Dave for your hospitality.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Borisunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a few days away from home and after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor, chose this B&B. As always, my comrades writing reviews on TA did not disappoint! Though Niantic is absent of a lot to do, and a great restaurant, this quaint B&B made for an extremely relaxing get-away! The Inn is spotless clean! You can tell they take very good care of the inside and the grounds year round. We were informed the beds, mattresses and reclining chairs in the rooms had just been replaced - what a nice surprise! Most of the breakfast was homemade including baked goods, French toast, eggs, quiche and even the granola. All very good... Though we had no dietary restrictions, we overheard the kitchen staff speaking with other guests about their allergies, etc --- what custom service! In the evening you can help yourself to a glass of wine or some home-baked cookies and throughout the day they have a large, jar of pretzels, water and sodas that you can help yourself to. All in all it was a great stay. If you are going when the weather is nice, take room & or the other one with the 270 degree views. Since it was late March we took room 9 which had a cozy feel and great gas fireplace.

Room Tip: Room 9 is great for seclusion and has it's own entrance. Room 7 and the one below it have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stay 150 nights a year with Hilton Hotels. As I was looking for something different, I chose this Inn for a week long stay. Without a doubt, my decision was rewarding, both personally and professionally. While using this hotel for a business stay, I wanted and needed a feel for home and relaxation. I was rewarded with personal attention and friendship of owners Dave and Sue. Accommodations were cozy and comfortable. Wine and other treats during evening hours allowed for unwinding at conclusions of my day. Breakfast each morning was prepared, as if to order. Literally, everything here is clean, comfortable and quiet. Undoubtedly, I look forward to returning and wholeheartedly recommend this Inn for anyone seeking character and class from both building and operators.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddierolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

One lazy Sunday in January while driving north on the coast of Connecticut we decided to check out The Inn at Harbor Hill. We got the full tour of the original building as well as the new addition. Both were warm and well tended, it was obvious with every room we checked out. This inn overlooks the marina in Niantic and it is pretty low key but not boring.

We promised to come back and stay at the Inn. And so we did in February. We were not disappointed. The room we stayed in (#3) had a lots of natural light with a porch overlooking the marina. It had an electric fire place to add to the mood and keep us warm, which was not a problem at all.

We had a great breakfast and the staff was very accommodating to all our needs.

We would definitely come back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eisnbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We just spent a weekend at the Inn at Harbor Hill with our book group. Having stayed at many bed and breakfasts, this was a real treat - the rooms were immaculate and so nicely appointed! Dave, Sue, Pam and the staff were as accommodating as they could be, treating us with genuine warmth, friendship and fun conversation. The rooms were terrific and the Captain Clark House fit our group to a tee. And the icing on the cake - the breakfasts were scrumptious! Try it - you'll be glad that you did!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niantic
9.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Niantic Inn
Niantic Inn
#2 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
22.2 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
11.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Harbor Hill Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Harbor Hill Marina

Property: Inn at Harbor Hill Marina
Address: 60 Grand St, Niantic, CT 06357-3237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Niantic
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Niantic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Harbor Hill Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful and fun-filled CT shoreline the Inn at Harbor Hill Marina is a classic New England seaside Bed and Breakfast. Also, a three time winner of the Connecticut Golden Pineapple Award for "Excellence in Service, Hospitality and Tourism Image." The Inn at Harbor Hill Marina boasts uncompromising hospitality and service, a beautiful waterfront location and modern day amenities all while paying homage to New England's rich coastal and boating history. Our 16 guestrooms are decorated in a charming seaside decor with king & queen beds, private bathrooms (some with large soaking tubs), some w/balconies and fireplaces, all with water views, cable tv, and A/C. Guests can walk to Niantic village where restaurants, shops, antiques, a movie theater, a mile-long boardwalk and beaches await. Complimentary use of beach passes, beach chairs & umbrellas. Transient boat slips also available. The inn is just minutes to famed Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Wineries, outlet shops, Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods Casinos, CT. College and Coast Guard Academy and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Harbor Hill Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Harbor Hill Marina Hotel Niantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing