We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Main Street Grille

Main Street Grille
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in Niantic
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The main thing this restaurant has going for it is the view from the upstairs deck. We both had the salad with fruit and nuts with lobster meat added. It had a very mild dressing (might have been mango) which did not overpower the lobster but the tomatoes were hot house (really! It's August...you could definitely find better tomatoes!!) and the greens were not a crisp as they could have been. It was tasty but would have been better with a little feta cheese in it. Beverage choices, especially the wines, were very average considering there are some good vineyards within a few miles of the location. Our server was sick, which never thrills me, and their serving set-up forces the waitresses to run up and down the stairs for everything including extra napkins, to-go boxes, etc. Someone needs to do an efficiency study on this place. My overall conclusion is that this is a beer and nachos place that is trying to be something it's not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    92
    53
    28
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We sat in first floor covered outdoor patio since it was raining. Was nice to eat outside. Waitress was very friendly, sandwiches we had for lunch were great. Would definitely eat there again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amylee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Main Street Grille”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family goes there occasionally year round. We only now eat a sandwich in the bar. The Reuben's and fries with slaw are the best. We do not eat in the main dining area any more. The prices are too high and the food does not taste that great. It is okay.
It's a love it or hate it place. They do have room for large parties and an outdoor seating place. If you want to be outside with just drinks and appetizers, you can go up to the second floor outside. For that it is worth the money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Twp. NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent New England Restaurant!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Food, service, and atmosphere are excellent! They offer indoor and outdoor dining. We will definitely be going back when we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtTeacher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love the RI clam chowder”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice seafood dinner tonight. The "clear broth" clam chowder was so good- reminded me of the old "100 Acres" from years ago. I had the seafood medley.... Very nice . Worth going to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nutmegger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Grille also viewed

 
Niantic, Mystic Country
 
Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 

Been to Main Street Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing