We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Indian food!”

Kolam fine Indian Cuisine
Ranked #27 of 57 Restaurants in Newtown
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“excellent Indian food!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I always enjoy Kolam and am willing to drive the half hour to eat the delicious Indian food they serve. My favorite appetizer is gobi lasuni, but if I eat all of that, I have no room for dinner, so I usually share it. I also like the masala dosa. For main course I love the Konkan prawns. Delicious! make sure to have plenty of nan to sop up the gravy. because I have had the appetizer, I usually take a good portion of my entree home, and it is just as good the next day. Onion kulcha is the best I have ever had. Service is attentive and helpful if you are new to Indian food. The kitchen has been most accommodating and made me something I like if they are not too busy. Definitely worth a trip to Newtown!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbara115de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Do not let the location fool you - tucked away in a small commercial complex, next to a U Haul rent a truck. A small, nondescript restaurant, you are immediately transported to a wonderful and exotic culinary experience. Incredibly friendly and hospitable staff, fantastic selection of authentic Indian cuisine. Very fair prices.
Kolam is a can't miss dining experience. What a treat to be able to visit this magical place right here in town!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
1 review
“The very best!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Food and service very excellent! Simply the best restaurant in the area. Warm, cozy and friendly! All of us liked every dish we ordered.appetizer calamari and the spinach n cheese appetizer in a apricot sauce was awesome! The chicken tikka masala yum!

Helpful?
Thank Lizofct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I always look forward to going to Kolam. The food is great and so is the service. From the outside you would never think there is an Indian restaurant inside. Once inside the decor is minimal but the food is what is it all about! If you are looking for a great Indian restaurant in Northern Fairfield county this is the place!! Prices are very reasonable too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Deelish - this is our go to indian place”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

To start, I am north indian, and this place claims to be south indian, but the dishes are all basically north indian with south indian names. I had to say that because thats a good thing. North American palates are not quite ready for south indian dishes yet. With that out of the way, this place is fabulous. The ambiance is pretty decent, not nyc trendy or fancy, but def on the fancier side for an indian restaurant. the food is always cooked fresh, with decent portion sizes. definitely not on the cheap side, but a very good value. we always order a few vegetarian dishes and some chicken, lamb and fish, which are all better than average. probably top 3 indian restaurant in fairfield county. you definitely want to order family style here as the portions are large enough to share. We are usually a group of 4 adults with 5 kids (5-11), and we order (2) veggie, (2) chicken, (2) lamb and a fish dish. along with several variations of their breads. Plenty of basmati rice comes along with each dish so dont order any more. (we always have left overs for a couple of doggie bags. Wine list is decent (7/10), but if you consider yourself a connoisseur, then bring your own and pay a 10$ corkage fee. I personally prefer the indian lagers with my meal. Desserts are also a must. I would skip the apps and just order an extra dish if you think you might be a big eater. enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familyguypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolam fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Kolam fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing