We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real cool place”
Review of Panera Bread - CLOSED

Panera Bread
Restaurant details
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real cool place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wifi.....sandwich and soup.....great bread ....coffee selections. And desserts. You can't go wrong here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TWASP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, CT
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Favorite Place of Mine”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

When Panera is not crowded, it's peaceful, solitary, and relaxing. That changes during lunch and dinner hours when children and families arrive. The food is consistently good, but if you have high blood pressure, be forewarned: the soups, while quite tasty, are full of sodium, and the food tastes salty, too. If I can snag one of the two isolated booths in the back, I can read USA Today happily.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grammarian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Interesting Menu”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I eat in Panera Bread quite a bit. The Newtown location has a terrific staff and Panera's consistently solid menu. My only suggestion to them is to spend more time cleaning the seating area. People don't clean up after themselves and that usually has to be done by the custoimers in this location.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good bread, but......”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

the rest is below average. everything i tried there was slapped together with no love. the apples i received were always mushy . sour dough bread is the best there though

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,506 reviews
796 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 889 helpful votes
“Nice place for a fast meal”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have been to other Panera Bread locations around the country.

They offer a variety of options for meals all through the day. Besides pastries and breads, they have sandwiches, salads, and soups. You place your order at a counter and then are assigned a number for your meal which you pick up at another counter.

The location in Newtown is in the same strip mall as the local Stop & Shop.

For this visit, I chose a half sandwich/half salad combo for $9.00. It came with a Cuban Panini and a BBQ Chicken salad which I thought was good.

An added bonus is that they have free wifi inside their location with plenty of tables to sit at. I noticed quite a few people with laptops while I was there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panera Bread also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing