We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Inn and Proprietors”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dana-Holcombe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Newtown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nestled in a classically-picturesque Western Connecticut town, The Dana-Holcombe House is an extraordinary bed and breakfast. Located on the main street of this charming town, the house sits in the historic section of Newtown. A charming facade greets clients as they climb the stairs to the main entrance. Inside, the rooms and suites are commodious, fetching, and classy. The owners, the Vouros, are as charming as their establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms are charming and decorated beautifully!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammarian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for The Dana-Holcombe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 17 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

For the past five years, my husband and I come from CA to visit with family in CT and have stayed at this superlative Inn, twice a year--in summer and at Christmas. Every time, we remark on how lucky we are to have discovered this treasure.

We have traveled quite a bit around the world and have been fortunate to have stayed in many wonderful places-- and feel that the Dana Holcombe House ranks among the very finest. From the moment our ebullient host John greets us at the door with a hug, to the time when we must sadly return to "the real world," we are treated like honored guests. The Inn is the perfect combination of the most beautiful furnishings of past eras, together with the latest in modern conveniences. Jane and John seem to anticipate our every need, whether it be a preferred food for breakfast (always bountiful and delicious!) or a recommendation of where to jog (and they are there to greet you with a towel upon your return if you encounter an unexpected shower).

The bedrooms are spacious, with the plushest beds and luxury amenities, and the elegant dining room overlooks a peaceful deck and lovely large yard and garden (great for a wedding!). There
are three charming sitting rooms on the main floor, perfect for reading or entertaining guests) and at Christmas, each of those rooms has an exquisitely decorated tree that looks like it was transported from Dickens' "A Christmas Carol."

My only hesitation in writing this review is in wanting to keep this special place a secret, to ensure they'll always have a room for us!

Room Tip: Each room is lovely and most have large windows on more than one wall. They are each decorated in a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeALagunaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

A wonderfully cared for & decorated facility. The host & hostess were charming and helpful as we're the puppies. The location is convenient and the grounds are well maintained. Whenever we are in the area we plan on staying at the Dana Holcombe house.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ske000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful inn because we had a birthday party to attend in Newtown. Have never been to this part of CT before and we were pleasantly surprised at its' beauty. The owners of this inn, John and Jane could not have been more accommodating. This inn had been rebuilt after a fire claimed the original building. It looked like a beautiful old inn, except that everything worked like a new inn! We were there in December and the Christmas decorations throughout were absolutely gorgeous. The furnishings were perfectly appointed and the rooms were extremely comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding, better than any other inn I have ever stayed in. And, best of all, they had the sweetest little shihtzu, named Annie. I would have loved to take her home--she made our visit seem like home--only with a much better breakfast. I would highly recommend a visit to this wonderful Connecticut inn. It's worth the trip.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room you choose. They're all beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fml0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I just returned from a weekend at this absolutely stunning guest house in Newtown, Ct. It has to be the finest and most tastefully decorated guest house I've ever experienced, and I HAVE stayed in many guest houses in many states and in several coutries. There is exquisite attention to detail, as if every painting and every article of furniture has been placed just right, with reflection and thought.

The most critical element in a guest house, however, in my humble opinion, is the attitude and behavior of the staff and owners (if they are on premise), and Jane and John (and their staff) shine in this area. They are friendly, gracious and accommodating but without being too present or too pushy. In other words, they are there if you need them, but they also give you space if you want to be quiet and relax in a corner somewhere.

I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone who wants understated elegance, very comfortable surroundings and extremely pleasant innkeepers. Great job, Jane and John!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Dana Holcombe House over Labor Day weekend in conjunction with a family wedding at the house. Our stay was incredible. The house is immaculate and so tastefully done, pride and love throughout the house. John and Jane (the innkeepers) were unfailing kind and generous with their time and hospitality. They made us feel as if we were arriving home after a long period apart. Our weekend was absolute perfection- as was the wedding. We'll be talking about the breakfasts for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfergus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Cozy, clean, charming...everything we expected and more. Our suite was luxurious; the owners were efficient without hovering; the decor elegant without chintzy clutter; lots of books and rooms to sit and talk,and perfect location on Newtown's Main Street.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeliaASheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
771 reviews
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Bethel - Danbury
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#1 of 15 in Danbury
784 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Danbury
Courtyard Danbury
#5 of 15 in Danbury
228 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Danbury-Bethel At I-84
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana-Holcombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana-Holcombe House

Address: 29 Main St, Newtown, CT 06470-2105
Location: United States > Connecticut > Newtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newtown
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing