We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newington
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newington
Troy, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Accommodated 7 families quickly when we had a bad experience at another hotel. The gentleman that was working the front desk (Jesus) was wonderful and very professional. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. As a group of basketball players and families, he let us use the breakfast room to eat dinner as a group and even supplied us with plates and condiments. We could not find a Laundromat close by to wash the uniforms, so Jesus washed and dried them for us, could not ask for much more than that....the whole hotel is clean and very comfortable. My only complaint would be there was not enough food brought out for the complimentary breakfast to accommodate everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Boopie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
17
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The ultimate in poor service. I showed up at the hotel after a very long day of work to find that they didn't have a room for me. They had the reservation, but gave my room to someone who decided to stay an extra night. The young clerk had no idea what to do. I had to leave and find another place to stay. Needless to say, we won't try that again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank drezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear drezen,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality. We would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details so we have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

They receive you with a bottle of water, rooms are nice, very much the same standard as in all Holiday Inn Express hotels for the right price. There are even good restaurants nearby like a Ruth Chris Staker restaurant. Can't miss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer hotel that is clean, comfortable and has good AC in the room. The beds have both soft and firm pillowed with labeled pillowcases. Great choice. I used Hotwire to get the room for around $100 per night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surferjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a real bad experience. I have stayed at HIEs all over the east coast and this one was the worst. Although the room was large, the lighting was the worst I have ever experienced. When I used the computer I had to tilt the laptop down to see the keyboard. That was with the all the lights on in the room. That should have been a precursor. That night I could hear all the noise from the highway out front as well as a truck parked outside which had it's cooling unit going on and off. The topper was when I could hear the sound of people going to the bathroom at several times of the night. Thank God this is not typical of HIE.

Room Tip: If you want a good night sleep stay in the rear of the hotel and walk all the way back. That is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newington, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear joelay,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely apologize that the room lighting's condition and noise levels experienced inconvenienced you. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into and I appreciate you bringing them into our attention as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite hotel chain... I don't like the old Holiday Inn but I Love almost all the Holiday Inn Express... More value and less expensive and often more clean and newer!!!

Great room, warm welcome with freebies and added values...

Great spacious room with great high speed Internet... Comfy bed, large flat screen tv and fridge ;-)

Quiet room... Great breakfast in the morning...

A must!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked this through the Friends and Family Rate and got a very nice room. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

We left very early the next morning, so I can't comment on the breakfast.

I will say that check-in was a breeze and Warren at the front desk was very hospitable. We used a Virgin America Visa credit card to "cover incidentals" and Warren commented that Richard Branson had stayed at this property last week!! Guess he had business in the Newington area.

If we're ever back in this vicinity, I wouldn't think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank It'sTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newington
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#2 of 5 in Rocky Hill
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newington
Address: 2553 Berlin Tpke, Newington, CT 06111-4109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Newington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newington Hotel Newington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing