We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific service, food has gone downhill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joey Garlic's

Joey Garlic's
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Newington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Terrific service, food has gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived at nine o'clock on a Saturday night and were surprised to be seated within five minutes. All the staff were friendly and attentive. The food was awful. The calimari appetizer used to be a mountainous portion of tender yummy ness. Not anymore. It was a small plate that consisted of mostly deep fried battered peppers. We had to pick around them to find only about five pieces of calimari. They must of run out of the chipotle side sauce because we were given a concoction that tasted like sour cream with smoke flavoring mixed in. We sent it back and the server took it off our bill. I had the eggplant parm and hubby had the chicken parm. The eggplant was greasy on the outside and rubbery in the inside. I needed a steak knife to cut through it. The penne pasta it was served over was undercooked and hard. Not just aldente but hard! Hubby's pasta was hard too. His chicken was just okay. He said our local pizza joint has better chicken parm. We couldn't wait to get out of there. Won't be going back either

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby8675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    81
    29
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best mussels ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

our second visit. I had mussels appetizer and the house salad. mom had a salad and slice of pizza. I must have had 40 mussels OMG the best I ever had. mom's pizza slice was the size of a half pizza. huge. waitress was friendly. love it here

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Large Portions, Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed our red seafood pizza. Toppings included lobster and shrimp, nice thin crust. My companion and I shared a huge salad which contained a variety of greens and the usual salad ingredients; dressing was excellent. Portions are really huge so we often share a dish or plan on bringing home a doggy bag. Service was very attentive. This is a very popular restaurant and there is often a waiting line after 5pm or so on weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trainbuff9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service, food just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Driving home from a late night working I took the opportunity to hit JG. Service was attentive. I had a salad that was just ok. The main course was the carbonara. Sounds and looks good but the dish is really a failure as the meats just crumble away to tiny pieces and are left at the bottom of the plate. Serving was huge so props for serving size

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gravity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Large portions but they seem to have cut back on the sauce you get and the two small pieces of bread you get are not much bigger than croutons, not what is has been in the past, don't think we will be going anymore!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teamster671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey Garlic's also viewed

 

Been to Joey Garlic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing