We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ in Connecticut”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cookhouse

The Cookhouse
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in New Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Connecticut”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have the luxury of living in the same town as this BBQ restaurant. I have had take out and eaten in numerous times. Each time the food quality is consistent. I have nearly had everything on the menu. The price is good for the quantity and quality of the meats. They are smoked, but not to much and they fall apart but are not dry. If you are not a BBQ person, their burgers are also excellent, as well as some of their flat bread sandwiches. The atmosphere is also great it is a large open barn restaurant with two stories and a large bar area, giving a very rustic comfortable feel. If you are in the area, or just want good BBQ this place is a must!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    75
    42
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield Co CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good option for Family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Although it can be pricey, the food is always great and the service is good, but plan on waiting to get it , its really crowded and you always have to wait

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty barbecue with unique menu items”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I ate here once on a trip through Connecticut. They have a nice barbecue menu, with lots of your typical options and few unique items. I had the smoked duck sandwich, which had caramelized onions, barbecue sauce and cheese. Very tasty, and something I've never seen before at a barbecue place. The homemade potato chips were mearly okay. I would have preferred some fries.

I would definately pay another visit next time I'm in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fireflite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

An old friend, a German who now lives in China, came to visit us (he used to live in the States). I asked him what food does miss the most. He told us BBQ so we took him to The Cookhouse. He loved the ribs. My wife enjoyed the duck and I have never had a brisket that was so soft. The chicken wings were good but not great (but then again, this is a BBQ place).

The service was friendly and not obtrusive (just the way I like it).

An absolutely wonderful meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KolnerBigBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Barbecue worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This legendary BBQ barn has delectable chicken, brisket and ribs. The spicy shrimp are a mess to eat but very satisfying. Since it's a large place with lots of new servers on any given day, sometimes service is slow and amateurish. But portions are generous, the sides are excellent (hello creamed spinach!) and the jalapeño cornbread will keep you happy if your food takes a while to appear.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanAdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing