We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean rooms, friendly and efficient staff, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rocky River Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Milford
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were so appreciative of the wonderful accommodations this past weekend and the welcome that was offered on our arrival. Our check-in was easy and relaxed and exactly what we were promised in our phone reservation. The room rate was extremely reasonable. Different members of our family booked three rooms, and all said this was one of the nicest inns we have stayed at, and one even said she would come back to New Milford just to stay at Rocky River again. The rooms were so clean and spacious and nicely renovated. Even though the inn is located on a main road, it was quiet, and a delight to hear the birds outside in the morning as the only sound around. We are thankful for such a positive experience.

Room Tip: Our family had rooms at both ends of the motel building in the two story sections, one upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

They are not much option for a decent place to stay in the area...This hotel is easy to find on route 7, the staff is pretty friendly and the rooms are always clean. If you can, upgrade to their more expensive room, they are spacious and very nice! If you've got to stay more than a couple of days, ask the front desk, they will probably give you a deal!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a nicely renovated older motorcourt close to town of New Milford as well as Candlewood Lake. Booking was done by phone since the room I wanted (a suite - 1 full bedroom w/pullout in a separate room) did not appear online even though it was described as an option. The person taking the reservation was courteous, helpful & emailed confirmation promptly. Easy & friendly check in. King bed room & bathroom were gigantic and spotless. The room smelled fresh & included mini fridge, coffeemaker, big closet, dressers, 2 living room style chairs, coffee table & wall mounted plasma tv. Bathroom seemed newly remodeled with large vanity, marble tile floors, full size bath/shower. Sitting room with pullout had another large wall mounted tv, chairs, coffee table & was separated from main room by very small room w/desk & doors which could be closed. This is a motel & not a Ritz Carlton so don't expect fluffy towels & 400ct linens - and the decor was not my taste -but because of the staff courtesy (it appears to be family run) & how spotless everything was, it gets a good rating. And even though it was quite busy with boaters &fishermen, and close to rte 7, the room was insulated enough that noise was minimal. I've has much worse stays in Marriotts which seemed to have cardboard walls.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out among the old motor court 1 story section as well as a couple of other out buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdonnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed in New Milford while traveling through New England. Great Hotel for our overnight stay. Large room comfortable beds, very clean, would highly recommend

Room Tip: stayed on the second floor, very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noscire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed in there regular room which was very clean and comfortable. Large LCD-TV, fridge and microwave were a plus. Staff gave us good ideas on area activity and places to eat. Also the price for the area and room was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jsward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quiet getaway from NYC for July 4th weekend, something nice and less than 2 hours drive from the City, with hiking, biking, kayaking in the area. I came upon this hotel by accident, looking for lodging in the vicinity of Candlewood lake, room pictures seemed nice, price ($125 per night for a luxury room) was right. I travel quite a lot for business internationally and in the US, staying in the nicest hotels, and i was very positively surprised when we entered our room. First of all, the owner was very nice and upgraded our room to "honeymoon" suite which was empty at the time, and the room was spectacular: very spacious, nice open design, jacuzzi, fireplace, balcony with view on the river and green back yard. Room design very contemporary, nice carpet, wall paper, beautifully done bathroom, awsome king size bed (i now understand why the suite was called "honeymoon" as we didnt want to leave the room:). We planned to stay one night, we stayed two. Before leaving, we asked the owner to show us other rooms as well, and all of them were quite awsome, with humongous bathrooms, all clean, shiny, impeccable, sexy. Will come again and definitely recommend the place to couples for nice getaway as well as groups of friends or families (there are 2 bedroom suits with 2 bathrooms). Rocky River Inn also has regular motel rooms for much lower price per night - but still decent. The great rooms are in the renovated buildings. Thanks to the family of the owners, which made our stay so great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Prices are high. Room was basically clean (only had to kill one bug). Woman not friendly (read rude) at all. Basic TV. Remote control undecipherable. Use of A/C blows circuit breaker. $100 extra to use in room jacuzzi. Ice machine not functioning. Took dirty linen but did not replace until asked. Bath mats used by others before we got there. Did not have another, more reasonable room, available for one more day, until we said we were leaving, then, one miraculously became open. Needless to say, won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlfmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milford
1.6 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
109 reviews
6.2 mi away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
64 reviews
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#1 of 15 in Danbury
830 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
7.6 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocky River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocky River Inn

Address: 236 Kent Rd, New Milford, CT 06776-5520
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Milford
Price Range: $90 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rocky River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two newly constructed buildings offering modern and comfortable lodging at the most reasonable price in Litchfield County. Free WiFi,Fridge, Microwaves, are just some of the free amenities that are standard in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rocky River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rocky River Hotel New Milford
Rocky River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing