We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I order from here often, I should be part owner lol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yokohama

Yokohama
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in New Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I order from here often, I should be part owner lol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I love love their sushi (spicy tuna roll especially)It's one of the best I have ever eaten. I order quite often from them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in New Milford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've been going here since it opened 13 or so years ago. The sushi is Top quality!! the creations of new rolls they create on a regular basis are amazing!! The fresh specials couldnt be any more live wich means they're really fresh!! Everything I've ever had ( & I'm a regular) is always 2 die 4!! Nothing but an AAA+++ from me! if you've haven't been here YOU MUST GO!! :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank IluvNH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
562 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Best Sashimi in CT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We love this restaurant. The sushi & sashimi are always fresh. Each dish is artistically presented, a different way each time. Well worth the drive and the money. Don't hesitate to try it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank damg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love Yokohama and for years all I would eat there was the shrimp tempora (which is excellent). Then one day my family ordered the colby beef rolls (a special that day) and everytime I go there I try something new, including raw fish rolls. If you are there with a date or just a friend i reccomend the Love Boat, you may not be able to find it on the menu but order it. The sushi comes out on a boat and there is a little of everything you could possibly want. Prepare to have at least 100$ on you plus something for a tip. The people who run and own the resturant are very kind and the service is exceptional.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muttmutthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Meet Chef Kevin and His Spectacular, Lit Up Sashimi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

For many years, I have been a customer of the many incarnations of Japanese restaurants in this location. Frankly, I miss Vicki who was the owner of the second; she was always interested in learning a nuance of the English language and I was always appreciative of her help with Chinese characters. Be that as it may, present owners Cindy and her husband Nicky are lovely people who serve absolutely delicious food, always fresh and always a beautiful sight to behold! On a recent visit, my friend's Sashimi Deluxe was prepared - or I might say, assembled - by Chef Kevin who is a master at creating dishes that are not only delicious to eat but delicious to look at. Using battery operated ice cubes and other things that glow, this night's masterpiece was about 18 inches tall and resembled a castle, replete with a moat and palace guards made out of fish. What a sight! Nicky makes fantastic shapes, too, out of radishes and other edibles. I feel guilty eating some of these because they really should be preserved and placed on the mantle at home. While I love these touches, please don't misunderstand. They are not gimmicks that detract in any way from the dining experience.

Sit at the sushi bar and your meal always starts off with a complimentary small dish of something that Kevin or Nicky already have in front of them. Like in Japan, watching the food prep is a spectacle unto itself and always enjoyable. I especially like watching the peeling of a very fine, continuous 6 inch strip of cucumber. This takes a lot of skill and practice, practice, practice.

My Wife has no interest whatsoever in sushi but somehow always finds something to eat and she always likes it although the chef is not very accommodating about making changes and there is clearly a language problem with the waitresses if you veer off course. For example, if you don't want onions in a dish, it's best to ask Nicky to confirm your order otherwise you might be disappointed.

Lighting is comfortably dim and people who sit at the sushi bar are usually respectful of the Japanese dining experience that is a lot about refinement and subtlety. Rarely have there been any screaming kids running around.

In sum, the sushi here is delicious and equal to if not better than most I have tried in the City. Hatsuhana it's not but, hey, the price is right and you're in New Milford, right?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yokohama also viewed

 

Been to Yokohama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing