We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Good food-a little pricey”
Review of Gary's Rib House - CLOSED

Gary's Rib House
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
CarolynInCT
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“3.5 Good food-a little pricey”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I went here when it first opened. Being a burger place before Gary's it's always hard to fathom how you can have a pricey place in an old little burger joint of a building. That was kind of weird. The booths were still the same just w/ table cloths instead.
The waitress (maybe owners daughter) was great. She explained everything knowing it was our first time. The shrimp cocktail was good. The cocktail sauce was home made and it was delish!
The food is good, but you'll pay for it. But it's nice New Milford finally has some place w/ good food. I am getting tired of driving 45 minutes to find good food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynInCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
1 review
“The Best Ribs!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The ribs fall off the bone and taste great! The staff was excellent and Gary comes around to each table. We will be returning there soon!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great meal after a ball game”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Stopped at Gary's on the way back from a trip to Yankees game, been looking for a place for a steak on the way home from the game. I had the NY Strip which might have been one of the best steaks I've ever had. My Dad had a half rack of ribs and the meat had nice flavor and where not buried in sauce. The staff was excellent and Gary himself stopped by to check on how are meal went. Planning to stop again after next years game

Helpful?
Thank ejlafleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury ct
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ENJOYED!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

First time eatting at Gary"s.
Small restaurant but good atmosphere. We told the waitstaff its our first time and she explaned the menu in details, which was refreshing. We both order ribs which was fork tender. Not to saucey. The salad was a bit virgary for my taste. Garlic bread was excellent. The waitress brought warm towels to the table after we complete our meals. Gary himself my his introduction and ask was everyrthing ok. Overall a very good experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cthoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blink and you'd miss it”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Gary cooks because he loves to, and that shows in his food. The brisket is outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank aeinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary's Rib House also viewed

 
New Milford, CT
 
New Milford, CT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing