We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Inn
Nearby Hotels
$114
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Groton)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
58
60
77
47
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
60
77
47
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutback steakhousemohegan sunwaffle makerstaff was friendlyenjoyed my stayshuttle serviceindoor poolone night staymystic aquariumchecking inlondon areacoast guard academycasinocathyfoxwoodssignageconnecticut
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 302 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2009

my stay was for a week it was nice, clean, front desk very polite.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelpr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

If you want granite and new carpet, go to the Hilton Garden Inn across the river in Groton. If you want to save a few bucks this is your hotel. Yes, it's old and has a few miles on it, but the basic bones are still good. Rooms are basic -- nothing fancy -- but it has a small bar and hot meal service, something other hotels in the area at this price point doesn't have. Just down the street from Connecticut College and the U.S. Coast Guard Academy it's a good spot if your looking for a place to sleep while spending busy days checking your child into school. It's short drive across the river from the Navy Sub Base in Groton so this might be a value spot when visiting a sailor at the base. Parking can be a little tight in the small rear parking lot and your view is of the busy highway, but if the view was that important you would have booked at one of the 4-stars in Mystic. Stayed there four nights and don;t have any negative comments. Basic "meat & potatoes" lodging.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Port-A-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

A perfectly fine room--right on track for the Holiday Inn. Remember when average hotels had a lounge? This one does. They have a breakfast restaurant, too--I didn't use it, but saw plenty of others doing so.

If you have kids, ask to stay in the 500 section, which is first floor in the "other" building. The "other building" has the pool. Also, ask for a room with a microwave/fridge. Some have them. There is a grocery store a two minute walk away, so a fridge can save you a little money.

I got the room on Hotwire, so I don't know what the rate was, but I would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtmathteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I thought this hotel was perfect for the money. Sure it's a Holiday Inn, but you can't go in expecting the Grand Hyatt. The front desk staff were very helpful, and even offered to move my room to the non-smoking wing of the hotel (rather than a non-smoking room in the "smokey" hallways). They also let us check in early with no issues at all. The room was standard, but it was very clean and well-kept. The only complaint I would have is that our room faced I-95, so it was a little noisy with traffic, but as long as you kept the window closed you couldn't really hear much unless there was a loud truck or something. Plus being that close to the highway makes it easy-on/easy-off. AND there's free wi-fi in every room. Definitely would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluephlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, New London, CT, for two nights. The front desk employees were always helpful and answered all of questions about the area. The rooms and entire hotel have been refurbished. Most of the rooms have everything you need.....micro, coffee maker, refrig., ironing board and iron, etc...

We would stay again. Our only disappointment was no free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reldnil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews