We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pit stop on the way to the Casinos”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
MA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pit stop on the way to the Casinos”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is like right on I-95 in CT. Easy to get to, Easy to get away from.
15-20 mins from either Fox woods or Mohegan sun.
Hotel room was clean and convenient.
The price was right.
For a 1 night stay, where you want most of the money for the casino, I was not looking to spend a lot of money into a hotel stay.

The Heater was bit nosy.
And the continental breakfast was awful, but that is not why I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnitsbyConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    71
    44
    51
See reviews for
78
87
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Motel has been improved over the past three months. Breakfast clean-up staff is more focused and attentive to their duties. Front desk staff was welcoming and efficient. Rooms are clean, updated, with new bedding and firm mattresses. Could use larger, firm pillows, rather than the slew (at least six) of soft, diminutive pillows that adorn the beds. Everything in room works well, including "black-out" shades. A directional sign at back of building would be helpful. Convenient location; can't be beaten for the price.

Room Tip: Select room on Bayonet Street (rear) side of building to avoid I-95 noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is the worst! The desk staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all, the rooms were dirty and dated. The only nice thing about this hotel was the shuttle driver who drove us to Mohegan Sun.
When I made these reservations, there were others in the area for about half the price. I didn't book them because I thought they'd be like this one... Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere! The ones at half the price are probably better than this one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nyronni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New London hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were here to visit the US Coast Guard Academy, and didn't have a car. The front desk staff were quite helpful and friendly, and the shuttle van gave us a ride to the academy and offered to take us to the train station. It is older, in need of a major remodel, but was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,nh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was appalled at the condition of the hotel and also the hotel staff. I was not told when I made the reservations over the phone that the pool/sauna and the restaurant/bar were under construction. When brought to the attention of the hotel staff they were very condescending and rude. I would not have paid $145.00 for a hotel that had no amenities. The room was dirty, bath tub cracked and rusty. Walls and furniture were dirty and stained. Person at the from desk upon arrival (Enid) was very unhelpful and seemed to not have a clue of how to do her job. I was told if I had called and not booked on line I would have know that the pool/sauna and restaurant were not open..who does that anymore.. I would not recommend to anyone to stay at this clarion in the future

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tjagath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Orchard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Be careful when you book online. I booked two non smoking rooms and when I got there I received two smoking rooms. The hotel was full so I could not switch. Management was not helpful at all. They would not give me a discount or a free night. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was adequate for our needs, as we were only staying one night. We were a bit nervous when we opened the door and the bed looked a little disheveled. After checking it over, it appeared to be OK. I think the maid made it fast and didn't put much effort in making it look tidy. The shower had good water pressure and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was basic but adequate, however could have had a few more options (like fruit or yogurt). They could have used another staff member on, as many things needed to be refilled and the one staff member was trying to do her best in keeping it maintained. I would stay here again if it were for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgeschips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
7.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
8.5 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,602 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 269 N Frontage Rd, New London, CT 06320-2642 (Formerly Holiday Inn New London)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic is nestled in the heart of Mystic Country, conveniently off I-95. Take a stroll back in time and enjoy the charm of historic Mystic Seaport and Olde Mistick Village or enjoy a slice of heaven at Mystic Pizza in beautiful downtown Mystic, CT. Take your family exploring at one of the most diverse aquariums in the nation, the Mystic Aquarium & Institute for Exploration. Try your luck or take in a concert at Mohegan Sun Casino, MGM Grand Casino, or Foxwood's Resort Casino, the largest casinos in New England. If shopping excites you, the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic hotel is just a short drive from Connecticut's premium outlet malls. Both Tanger Outlets and Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets offer great deals for the bargain hunter. The hotel is also convenient to Southeastern Connecticut's corporate and government centers including Electric Boat, Millstone/Dominion, CT Naval Submarine Base, Sonalysts Studios, Hellier, Ortronics and Pfizer. The Clarion Inn New London/Mystic offers what you need to stay connected during your stay in the Mystic region with free calls within the Continental US and free high-speed Internet access. After your busy day in Southeastern Connecticut, stay on track in our hotel's fitness center then relax and unwind in our heated indoor pool. Make the Clarion Inn New London/Mystic your hotel of choice, the next time you visit the Southeastern CT area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New London Hotel New London
Holiday Inn New London
New London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing