We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spotless rooms, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“spotless rooms, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A short stay to relax during the holiday season.

Spacious room, quiet, clean.
Pleasant staff.

We swam in the pool and felt like we had the place to ourselves.
Holiday inn is a great brand and the recent renovations made for a pleasant stay.

The waterfront is very close and we visited the Fort and pier area - minutes away.

Room Tip: We had a fourth floor location - very quiet the entire time
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, Regional Director of Operations at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear JudyDianne,

Thank you for taking time & reviewing the Holiday Inn New London. We are glad that new & improved hotel was up to your satisfaction level. Yes we are very close to Mystic, Casinos & pier area.

Glad to be at your service & hoping to be at your service again in near future.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    41
    19
    18
See reviews for
71
56
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked a room here to stay after a concert this past weekend at Mohegan Sun. The room more than met our needs, spacious and clean! There is a mini fridge and work desk area for those who need such amenities. There is a shuttle that runs to the casino, but fills up very fast. We took a cab both ways, it was 60$ roundtrip, kind of steep but we had no other choice. The free wifi is a nice touch! Everyone we encountered on the staff was pleasant and I would consider staying here again next time we take a casino trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Magbox,

Thank you for recognizing the hotel amenities: nice & clean over-sized rooms, a complementary fridge & microwave in each guestroom & our close location to Mohegan Sun casino. As you mentioned on busy nights hotel shuttle gets filled up really quickly, sorry about not being available for your trip to casino. In future please call ahead to reserve the spot.

Thanks for choosing & hope to be at your service again in near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This property has been undergoing a change from a Radisson to a Holiday Inn. From speaking to folks, and family in the area, it has come a long way. The location is downtown, and located within walking distance of many nice restaurants, theaters, businesses, and the Amtrak station. The building appears to have been severely renovated. Rooms are large and nicely furnished. Beds and furniture are new, and having a micro fridge/ microwave in the room make reheating your unfinished dinner convenient. WI-FI is spotty at best. We were dropped numerous times. Rooms on the fifth floor afford you a wonderful view of either the city or the Connecticut countryside.
What is lacking is a complimentary breakfast buffet. At present there is a restaurant in the building but it is privately owned. We are told that they are moving soon and the hotel will take over the service. While the staff is friendly, the lobby is not. A lack of comfortable seating area and all-day good coffee leaves the area cold.
Parking can be a problem if there is an event being held in one of the large meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a fifth floor room. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limulus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Limulus49,

We are happy to hear that you noticed all the changes we have made over last couple of months to ensure a clean, upgraded hotel with all full service amenities. Please accept my sincere apology on Wi-Fi being spotty during your stay as we have an excellent infrastructure & Metrocast Internet service to ensure you are always connected. Few areas still needs some more attention but it's a GREAT feeling to hear from hotel guests that things are coming along.

As a full service hotel, we offer an on-site restaurant for B/F & Dinner. We also provide room service. At the same token next time please book our B/F included rate as the B/F is not complementary.

Once again thanks for your business & hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is fine for one night stay in New London, conveniently located in downtown New London where there is an emerging arts scene and some new funky restaurants but the streets are pretty derelict and unsafe late at night.

That being said, the Holiday Inn in New London is a nicer version of the old Radisson, but they have a long way to go. The rooms are remodeled and spacious, and overall very comfortable. The beds are a big improvement over the old Radisson "sleep number" beds. There was really no problem with the room, except that the air conditioning is kind of hard to control and there was a high pitched buzzing sound whenever the air kicked in.

You can tell that the areas in the back (conference rooms, rest rooms) are neglected (probably since it's mostly out of sight.) The wallpaper in the men's room looked new, for example, but also looked like it had never been cleaned. The elevators have also not been renovated. It was nothing bad, but I wondered why they had spent so much to renovate the hotel but did not really complete the job. Another example, there was a reception in a conference room on Saturday, but as of Sunday at Noon the ballroom still had dirty and unchanged table cloths and there was a dirty 8' draped table sitting outside of the room (see picture.) It was left like this overnight? It seems like the staff doesn't really care.

We had breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel. The restaurant server is leftover from the Radisson. She was nice enough, but very basic service, and did not bother to ask us if the food was OK until she left the check. There was no "are you enjoying new london?", no "did you stay in hotel?" or any efforts to make small talk (it wasn't busy.) There was another worker cleaning the tables by wheeling around a cart and separating (and slamming) the silverware into plastic bins on the cart. It's not that big of a restaurant - shouldn't the silverware be separated in the back, and do you really need the cart for the dishes? By far the worst part is that in the back of the restaurant the staff left their coats/drinks, etc. on a table that they had set up for themselves.. shouldn't this be kept out of view from the customers? I also love that the restaurant shuts down at 11:00 a.m. on the dot (and the staff walks over to the bar area to eat.) Shouldn't a new hotel at least stay open to start serving lunch? Who ever heard of a hotel restaurant that shuts down during the day?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear NEVisitors,

Thank you for your time for so detailed review. We appreciate you recognizing the effort hotel ownership & staff had made over the years & previous brand. It also appears that we have some opportunities in some areas while some other areas we scored really well on your expectations.

We know you have choice when you travel back in this area & we look forwards to have you back again with us!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Quick stay overnight for business. Checked right in with helpful staff who answered all questions. Room was huge with very comfortable bed and another room with work desk and large flat screen TV. Very quite with no noise during night would stay again. Breakfast in morning was OK but normal options. Would stay here when in area next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brentb1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear brentb1166,

Thank you for your review. It's always nice to hear from a real guest that my team was able to deliver the consistent service during you recent stay. We appreciate your business & looking forwards to your future stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a very nice hotel of its kind. Very clean. Beautiful pool, large and lit up blue at night, very attractive. Unfortunately, there aren't many places to eat around the hotel which is smack downtown. There are probably expensive bistros, but no quickies if you have kids with you. So we decided to eat in the hotel. We waited for our food for 45 minutes. The kids had personal pizzas which were large and tasty, but it should not take that long to make them! They actually came after our adult meals. To be fair, the hotel did comp us the pizzas. Unfortunately, there is no free breakfast here, as it is a Holiday Inn, not an Express. Does it make sense that you get a free breakfast at a cheaper hotel?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yearbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear yearbook1,

Thank you for playing fair & acknowledging the hotel on all aspects. On one end we were able to create experience via product, pool & clean comfortable guestroom. On other end restaurant service was not up to par. We are currently working on it & again sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We hope to be at your service again in near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting our daughter at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy for parent's weekend this past September. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. However it is important to note that it is not located in the nicest part of town and there is not a whole lot to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. It is located very close to the Academy, just a short drive away and close to the ferry if you want to go across to Long Island.

The staff at the hotel was very nice. They went out of their way to answer any questions and make our stay as pleasant as possible. I was a little nervous about the quality of the service based on some poor reviews that I had read prior to staying there however, we did not find that to be the case. We had requested a roll-a-way bed one night so that our daughter could stay with us but they didn't have one available. It could have ended there as we had not requested the roll-a-way with our reservation but instead, they upgraded us to a suite w/pullout sofa at no additional charge for which we were extremely appreciative.

Just as a note, they have a restaurant in the hotel as well as an indoor heated pool however we did not have a chance to try either out.

All things considered, I would have no problems staying there again. However, should you choose to stay here, you should have reasonable expectations. It is basically a 3 star hotel located in a 2 star area and you should not expect 4 or 5 star accommodations, just the basics. If you are expecting anymore than that, you're likely to be disappointed. If you have reasonable expectations, you'll probably enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It's always nice to hear that everything worked out from your visit perspective. We appreciate you recognizing the staff extra miles, which we strive to do everyday.

Thanks again for choosing us & looking forwards to your stay again in near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area

Property: Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
Address: 35 Governor Winthrop Blvd, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly New London Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-New London has expertly managed facilities and staff offering 100% guest satisfaction. Located just one mile off I-95 in New London, midway between Boston & New York, two blocks from the Amtrak Station, Orient Point, Long Island & Block Island Ferries, 15 minutes from the Groton-New London Airport, 45 minutes from T.F. Green Airport & Bradley Airport. The Holiday Inn-New London offers 120 well appointed guestrooms, including 4 deluxe suites. Rooms are available with complimentary high speed wireless Internet, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and iron boards. We have an elegant Grand Ballroom with flexible meeting and banquet space for up to 300 people. We have our Lobby Cafe for up to 150 for cocktail parties, also our Eagle Room or Board Room for more intimate meetings or aprivate dinners. Enjoy our indoor heated pool and fitness center. O's Bar & Grille Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in an atmosphere conducive to both business and casual dining. Room service is available. Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino are located nearby. The Holiday Inn-New London offers evening shuttle service available to the Mohegan Sun Casino on Friday and Saturday evenings at a minimum cost of $15.00 round trip per person. We are located 10 minutes from Mystic Aquarium, Mystic Seaport, U.S. Naval Sub Base, USS Nautilus Memorial, New London Ocean Beach Park, Harkness Memorial Park, Eugene O’Neill Theater & USCG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New London Radisson
Radisson New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing