We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine enough - just in a sketchy neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine enough - just in a sketchy neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our group may have hit this place at the wrong time. We had a lot of trouble making reservations and then a couple of months later we had similar difficulty getting our reservations confirmed. They were changing reservation systems from the New London Plaza Hotel to Holiday Inn so there seemed to be a lot of confusion. The good news is that all rooms were available at the time of check in. Unfortunately, our group was not together (on the same floor) so that was a bit disappointing.

Upon check in, we inquired about the surrounding area - restaurants, things to do, etc. The person at the front desk advised of a couple of dining options but told us "don't go out back. That's a bad area". Indeed she was correct - it was an unsavory neighborhood. But we did not plan to be outside after dark so we didn't so much mind. Although we did have one person in our group run out for something around 10PM and when he returned to the hotel and parked his car out back, he was approached by a "gentleman" asking how much he could get for $20. He assured this "gentleman" that he was not the person he was looking for and walked back into the hotel.

When we arrived the pool was out of service due to a leak. However they did have it up and running later that night. The rooms were very large - I was impressed and the renovations make it look modern and clean. I had no issues with my room but three folks in the group had issues with heating/cooling. Either the rooms were too hot or too cool and the hotel front desk could not fix it. Only one of them was able to be re-accommodated into a new room. The food was fine and the hotel workers that I encountered were friendly and helpful.

All in all, it was a fine enough stay - there isn't much else in the area that is much better so this is a good option considering it is clean and renovated and reasonably priced. Just don't go out back late at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tantricfan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear tantricfan32,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    41
    19
    18
See reviews for
71
56
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel has been recently refurbished. We spent one night here before boarding the Cross Sound Ferry early the next morning. Room was very clean, the beds were new, so very comfortable. Linens were all new. Pool was nice for the kids, albeit small. Parking was easy, staff was friendly. Breakfast in the morning was good. No complaints, very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john55c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Reading the reviews scared us! So we decided to just stop by to check it out. The staff were great and explained that the renovations had finished 2 weeks ago and that they were almost a Holiday Inn. The sign is up but not the flag. Our room was perfect and quiet. The hotel is located so that you can walk all around the city. Fun to walk to a museum or to a restaurant or to one of the many galleries. Much of the store fronts are "for rent" but there is a vibrant art scene with things happening most weekends. This hotel is worth the wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timothy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Staying at this hotel with a large group for a reunion. On checking in I was daunted with notice from the front desk ckerk that I would be charged a day's rate for being late checking in. I arrived on the correct day and they have screwed up my reservations. They say they will fix it by the time I chekcout. We'll see. The hotel has just changed to a Holiday Inn. It looks like remodeling has been done. The room is large and well equipped - except for the refrigerator and microwave that were promised. Maybe this is part of the start up problems. we did a good group rate for the rooms. The banquet rooms are maybe average at best. The hotel is in the center of New London and just off of the water. No great complaints or great kudos for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear cjw_9,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to New London.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The only work I saw was one morning they were still pulling some network wire in the bar/restaurant area. I had lunch there -- a guinness and a chicken wrap and the sandwich was good. The room was clean, and pretty much new. Bed was new, sheets were clean. Good water pressure. Nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stay away from this place until everything is done. They couldn't find my reservation, wanted to charge more than the quoted price, told me after I had checked in and paid that there was no water, my room was only sort-of clean (bathroom especially not clean) the room across the hall from me was trashed; holes in the walls, fixtures torn out... none of the ice machines worked; packets of coffee but no coffee maker, only about 3 rooms of guests, one of which was college age boys who ran up and down the hall shouting and carousing at 3:00 a.m. Lobby coffee very reluctantly supplied after I asked twice; they couldn't print a receipt for me and told me they would email it (but never got it) Water briefly back on in the evening but when I ran the water in the tub it stayed pure black...toilet didn't flush well. Really horrid...should be shut down until ready. Will never, ever, ever go back there. Stayed 3/30/13

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CynthiaW403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear CynthiaW403,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are deeply sorry for the issues you had at check-in and the service you received was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the room accommodations you received and any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New London hotels

e falmouth,usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My bed smelled like the sheets were washed with a package of cigarettes,paint peeling on ceiling of bathroom & tv didn't work. Yes they are going thru renovations but it was dicussing. We have stayed there before but nothing like what it was like this time. I hope when Holiday Inn takes over it's much better

Room Tip: Don't stay here till it changes ownership!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear rosemuff,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom condition and room amenities. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area

Property: Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
Address: 35 Governor Winthrop Blvd, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly New London Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-New London has expertly managed facilities and staff offering 100% guest satisfaction. Located just one mile off I-95 in New London, midway between Boston & New York, two blocks from the Amtrak Station, Orient Point, Long Island & Block Island Ferries, 15 minutes from the Groton-New London Airport, 45 minutes from T.F. Green Airport & Bradley Airport. The Holiday Inn-New London offers 120 well appointed guestrooms, including 4 deluxe suites. Rooms are available with complimentary high speed wireless Internet, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and iron boards. We have an elegant Grand Ballroom with flexible meeting and banquet space for up to 300 people. We have our Lobby Cafe for up to 150 for cocktail parties, also our Eagle Room or Board Room for more intimate meetings or aprivate dinners. Enjoy our indoor heated pool and fitness center. O's Bar & Grille Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in an atmosphere conducive to both business and casual dining. Room service is available. Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino are located nearby. The Holiday Inn-New London offers evening shuttle service available to the Mohegan Sun Casino on Friday and Saturday evenings at a minimum cost of $15.00 round trip per person. We are located 10 minutes from Mystic Aquarium, Mystic Seaport, U.S. Naval Sub Base, USS Nautilus Memorial, New London Ocean Beach Park, Harkness Memorial Park, Eugene O’Neill Theater & USCG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New London Radisson
Radisson New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing