We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New London
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Islip, New York
1 review
“STAY AWAY”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I just got back from this hotel today and I could NOT say one good thing about it. I called last week to make sure the renovations were complete and the hotel told me they were all done. They lied and when I arrived there yesterday, the renovations were still going on. The floor was extremely dirty in the lobby and the sound of drills and hammers is just so lovely. The room was clean but there is no refrigerator. The room was also extremely hot and the heat would not lower. To top it all off, the shuttle service was a complete disaster.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to satisfy you with the service you have received. We humbly extend an apology for the poor experience and shortcomings you have encountered during your stay.

We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    84
    42
    19
    18
See reviews for
71
57
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed New Years eve, and the renovations were still not completed. We did not plan to use the pool anyway, but the breakfast area was still not renovated. We wound up eating elsewhere for breakfast. Loved our room though..everything new, but they did not have the refridgerators in them yet.
We were told that the renovations would be completed by Febuary and Holiday Inn points would be able to be used or gained. Not sure, seems like there is still alot to complete.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187Suz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear 187Suz777,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Room itself was very nice, new and clean. Iron was broken and I told the front desk, but they were not concerned. We were most dissapointed to find the hotel under major renovation, including the pool being completly drained!! One of the things we look for in a hotel is a nice pool to use...very sad! The shuttle they advertise is actually $15 each way, not $10. I asked if we could get the $10 rate since that is what is advertised currently on the website. The front desk employee said she would check and call our room and let us know, she never did, so we just ended up driving...disappointing. And we got a room with two queen beds, when we reserved one with king

Room Tip: Make sure renovations are complete!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New London hotels

Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

first red flag is this hotel doesn't have it's own website - not a very well established business. during the overnight visit we came across several inconveniences:
upon arrival to the hotel, we noticed the previously used sign for the "Radisson" had not been completely taken down; the front entrance was not very well lit; when we walked into the lobby, a customer with 3 young children had received a room with someone else already staying in it; the lobby was not yet finished from the renovations that were supposed to be completed november 1st, it was completely empty and all fire alarm alert lights were missing. The room across from ours had a piece of paper taped up with the number written on it. the room was nice except the pay per view was not working. all of the websites we used said that there was a pool, but it was also still under construction (thanks for the warning), the only saving grace for this "establishment" was the free wifi and breakfast which was most likely their way of making up for their shortcomings. without it this would have surely been 1 star.
overall, it wasn't worth our money. choose another hotel, no matter what kind of "deal" you come across. Or maybe call ahead and be sure all services are in good working order.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheriec09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The place is either not very well managed or maybe they're just starting out, I don't know. The entire place is in various stages of renovation, but it isn't bad overall. Whenever those renovations are finally done, I'm sure it will be a much nicer experience, but for now I would choose to stay elsewhere considering it isn't really a great deal anyway. You can stay at an equivalent-quality motel elsewhere in the same area for $60-$75/night, so the only reason to stay here really is the shuttle.
When we arrived, first thing we noticed was that the lobby was not only still being renovated, but had the look of having had renovations abandoned (the carpet was rolled up around the edges, floor unfinished, etc.. just didn't look like it was actually still being worked on, just left that way). Eh, not a huge deal.
Then we were initially assigned to a room that was already occupied. This was mostly annoying because I had specifically asked the front desk person about this before we went up to the room (when you sign up for the Mohegan shuttle, you sign up by room number, and I saw right on the list that someone with our room number had already signed up for the shuttle... but she told me that was just a mix up... which it wasn't.). Whatever, we told them about the room being occupied, got re-assigned a new room and it was nicer than expected after seeing the state of the rest of the place!
The room was nice looking, and clean, but upon closer inspection, it just wasn't totally done. The fixtures in the bathroom weren't totally attached, there was some black mold on the ceiling in the bathroom (probably just because there is no fan for ventilation), etc. but overall it was OK, comfortable and large with a nice big TV. All OK, just again, $100 is a lot for this place.

The shuttle service is run by a really nice guy who seems to be working w/the hotel as sort of an independent contractor. He owns the van and I think most/all of the $ from your fee ($15/person round trip, from 5pm - 1:30am) goes to him and paying for his gas so we didn't really mind paying it. Only complaint I would give is that he was 15-20 min late each time we got picked up, but it really wasn't a big deal.
I'll also say they had a decent breakfast, mostly continental stuff but they also had eggs so that was a bonus!
Finally, we were overcharged for our room by $10 when we checked out, probably due to the room switch. Not a huge deal but they just need to get their acts together at this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a finished floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanhou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I called and confirmed my reservation and when I arrived at the hotel at 2am they couldn't find my reso. The manager said, not sure what to tell you I don't have a clean room. Really? He was the only one working on a Saturday night. We had to wait for him to go to the basement to get us lean sheets and towels. We met him up in our used, not cleaned room and he took the sheets off and handed us clean sheets! He looked in the bathroom, emptied trash, took bar of soap covered in hair and left. I couldn't sleep after this! I was so grossed out! He was very pleasant and you could tell very embarrassed. Seemed like he had a rough night full of omplaints. We felt very bad for. Him! Then when checking out of the $99 room we got compt, the girl had a line of people heckling out complaining. One couple was never picked up by the shuttle at Mohegan! They forgot to go pick them up at 1am! Later that week we were changed $150.99 I had to chase off my card!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

we were in for a family wedding in October. We were told the rooms would be done and there would be construction in the lobby. the air conditioning in my room did not work, there was construction material in the room hallways... staff clearly was tired of hearing all the complaints about this wretched hotel. Could not wait to get out!

Room Tip: "stay away, it is not a good place"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
262 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
547 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area

Property: Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
Address: 35 Governor Winthrop Blvd, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly New London Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-New London has expertly managed facilities and staff offering 100% guest satisfaction. Located just one mile off I-95 in New London, midway between Boston & New York, two blocks from the Amtrak Station, Orient Point, Long Island & Block Island Ferries, 15 minutes from the Groton-New London Airport, 45 minutes from T.F. Green Airport & Bradley Airport. The Holiday Inn-New London offers 120 well appointed guestrooms, including 4 deluxe suites. Rooms are available with complimentary high speed wireless Internet, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and iron boards. We have an elegant Grand Ballroom with flexible meeting and banquet space for up to 300 people. We have our Lobby Cafe for up to 150 for cocktail parties, also our Eagle Room or Board Room for more intimate meetings or aprivate dinners. Enjoy our indoor heated pool and fitness center. O's Bar & Grille Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in an atmosphere conducive to both business and casual dining. Room service is available. Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino are located nearby. The Holiday Inn-New London offers evening shuttle service available to the Mohegan Sun Casino on Friday and Saturday evenings at a minimum cost of $15.00 round trip per person. We are located 10 minutes from Mystic Aquarium, Mystic Seaport, U.S. Naval Sub Base, USS Nautilus Memorial, New London Ocean Beach Park, Harkness Memorial Park, Eugene O’Neill Theater & USCG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New London Radisson
Radisson New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing