We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not Starbucks, which is the huge compliment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Muddy Waters Cafe

Muddy Waters Cafe
Ranked #2 of 143 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
322 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Its not Starbucks, which is the huge compliment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place depends on the weather. My girlfriend and I pass through New London every 6 months or so on the way to or from the Amtrak station. What can you say about this place? Its a coffee house. Cozy, but what we liked about it was their back patio. Yeah, it looks out over the rear of a bunch of restaurants, but its right on the river and a very pretty view. Come here on a spring or fall morning, and enjoy a cup of coffee or tea and a pastry and you can start your morning off right.

I had tea, she had coffee - I don't remember what kind but it doesn't matter - and we split a cinnamon roll. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because the cinnamon roll wasn't great. But we still enjoyed our morning before our train and I am sure we'll be back.

If you like coffee shops, then you'll like it here. Guess that's all you can say about a coffee house other than that it isn't Starbucks

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    52
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

the sandwiches are great, the menu varied and specials changing regularly, with tasty and nicely presented meals. Very friendly service, and deserts, if that's your style, are decadent indeed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Great sandwiches, friendly people, a great local cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The owners and staff at Muddy Waters -- Susan and Barry -- have created an oasis in downtown New London. Their coffee and tea are very good, their baked goods are first rate, their soups and sandwiches are terrific, and they care about their customers. On their walls, you'll see historic photos of New London and faces of state and local politicians who have visited Muddy. If you're in New London, you've got to stop by. It's like "Central Perk" on the TV Show "Friends."

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill_H_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“They listened and improved !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food was great and the service was fun, friendly and pleasant. They memorize the name of each customer along with what they ordered. It was hard to understand how these people could have ever been seen as unfriendly by another reviewer. I guess they read the review and made a quick improvement before we walked in. We loved looking at all of the fun objects, the art, and all of the old photos of New London. Everyone else there appeared as satisfied, content and amused as we.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent, fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Always a work week staple, fresh sandwiches, salads, soups and coffee. The back deck is nice and sunny (fair warning, overlooking the train tracks). Bring cash, or you'll need to meet the credit card minimum.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Waters Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Muddy Waters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing