We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better places elsewhere ...service not pleasant!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Recovery Room

The Recovery Room
Ranked #6 of 143 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better places elsewhere ...service not pleasant!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food is just okay at this point in time. I must say for the past 3 times over 2 months that I have eaten at the Recovery Room the service has been poor even on the side of rude every time. I have dined with various people and all members in our party have felt less then appreciated and almost felt like we were imposing on their space...weird. The sodas are $2.25 each and every refill and NEVER a free refill even though the glass is filled with ice!!! The 3 glasses of diet coke costs $6.75 BUT we probably had approx. 1.5 cans of soda max!!! A total rip off and very disappointing. The prices are not real cheap so the least they could do is provide refills of soda when a glass is literally filled with ice. Oh well I guess we will have to go elsewhere for Italian food and pizza. It was good in years past and now this will just be a memory of places once visited.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting combos, great crust!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A New London staple, delicious pizza. Dining room is no frills, but they accommodated our large party very well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awsome food,waiter sucked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

food was great,we had pizza and the other had the steak,the problem was the waiter was more worried about his girlfriend and watching the clock to get out of work,never brought me my salad and only came back to bring us with our check , another waitress boxed the pizza he was to occupied ,,never was asked about the meal or if we wanted refills or water

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington,CT
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love It. Casual bistro.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I could live on the chopped pasta salad and the foccacia bread. Casual dining. Fun bar. Consistent and fresh food. Great for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connecticut-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never think of it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We always enjoy the Recovery Room, and yet sometimes forget about it. It is located near the hospital (hence the name!) and in a mostly residential area. We usually share a salad and a pizza...and are stuffed when we leave, The pizza crusts are mostly thin and crusty, and aren't covered with cheese, so you can enjoy the flavor of the toppings...our favorite is the shrimp and artichoke!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryandTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Recovery Room also viewed

 
New London, CT
 

Been to The Recovery Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing