We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“defintely the best seafood in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Scott's Lobster Dock

Captain Scott's Lobster Dock
Ranked #1 of 142 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“defintely the best seafood in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Growing up in Massachusetts, I've always been big on fish and chips and there's not as many choice around new london. But this is by far the best one. Only thing is i wish it was open year round.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    191
    58
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Most awesome seafood place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I loooove this place! The freshest and most delicious seafood around! If you haven't tried yet, you're missing out. I couldn't say only a few items are tasty...they're all great!

Helpful?
Thank Wonderlust1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Best lobster bisque around also LOVE the clam fritters. ... I am always bummed when it closes for the season.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newlondoner36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
“Great Lobster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great Lobster Roll and and Bisque.
The place going to Captain Scott was a little shady so do drive there.
Once you get in the dock, there is a fair large parking lot with rows and rows of tables.
Order from the stall which reminded me like a food truck and they'll call you.
We went early so there wasn't a lot of people but it was getting packed quickly.
A must go if around the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is a hidden gem.

We found it searching on YELP for a place to eat after we got off the Cross Sound Ferry from Long Island. It's very close.

The best Lobster Roll. Period! Hot Butter optional.
They know how to prepare it, keep the price in check, no hassle, fast, great.

On our 3 week trip across New England, we tried to find another place that had as good a lobster at any price , even paying more, and it was never as good and most places put mayo in it! and we would not touch that. Who wants to spoil their lobster in mayo? Mayo is for tuna! Butter is for lobster!

New England--get your S together! Go to this place and find out how to prepare a Lobster Roll.

Forget the rest--this place is the best. And the fish is not bad too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Scott's Lobster Dock also viewed

 

Been to Captain Scott's Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing