We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyped up lobster”

Captain Scott's Lobster Dock
Ranked #1 of 144 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hyped up lobster”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I love lobster rolls and heard nice things about this place, so gave it a try. The experience was underwhelming. The large lobster roll was big with 5ozs of meat, but they were pretty bland tasting. Minus the butter, the flavor was simply missing. I would still go again, if passing by, but wouldn't say this is the best place to get a lobster roll

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vamsi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    205
    61
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing, with Great Lobsters Rolls - and GREAT Ice Cream!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took the 40 minute ride to try what was supposed to be the best Lobster Roll in Connecticut. Located a couple of blocks from Electric Boat in New London, CT this relaxing and unpretentious Lobester Shack is worth the drive. We had the Lobster Roll - which was the among the best we have ever had. Plenty of lobster with a hint of butter on the hot version - but no so much that it drowns out the enjoyment of the lobster itself. As a side we had the onion rings - maybe we were just in the mood - we thought they were among the best we ever had. The breading was crunchy and tasty. Not done yet ... for dessert they have ice cream to die for. Gifford's ice cream is among the best we have ever had. My daughter had Maine Lobster Tracks while I settled for the rather traditional Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip. The best! We will aboslutely be making return trips!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seven32009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointing visit”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

On my previous visits in past years, the food was delicious. This time around, the lobster rolls were tasteless and the belly clams had no belly. Could have been they were preparing for the Sailfest but we brought a newcomer with us and had talked about how good everything was only to get a generous portioned lobster roll that had virtually no taste to it (and we had ordered four of them). After waiting in the obigatory line for about 30 minutes, we all walked away underwhelmed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not pretentious but oh so good”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Captain Scott's is not a restaurant. It is a typical seafood stand on the water with a great view of many boats. It is a typical joint (in the best sense of the word) where you order your food, wait to be called and then you pick your tray and go find a table. If not recommended by someone one may never find it.
The food is fresh, fried but NOT greasy. It is delicious and an experience as well. Eat and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bakfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“where is the fish?”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A group of six of us recently stopped here for lunch and everyone was very disappointed in the food. Clam fritters should be called fritters because in an order of six fritters only 2 small pieces of clam were found. Both types of lobster rolls contained shredded pieces of lobster that was rubbery and tasteless. Onion rings were very greasy; it took many napkins to try to soak some of the oil off of them. The fish sandwich only had a very thin and very small piece of fish with 3 times the coating on it. Needless to say no one in our group would go back nor recommend this restaurant to anyone. Very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catgirlct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Scott's Lobster Dock also viewed

 

Been to Captain Scott's Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing