We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great meal”
Review of On the Waterfront

On the Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 146 Restaurants in New London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Gales Ferry
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is rapidly becoming my family's favorite restaurant. The service is always very good, the portions very generous, the atmosphere and the views are wonderful. Highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DWS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    85
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Water View and Brunch Too!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a terrific experience. We were there for a post-wedding brunch and the food was fabulous! From the scrambled eggs to the roast turkey and beef to the pastries. Can't say enough good. Reputation of the restaurant is known throughout town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This one's all about great seafood”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I highly recommend this place. I like good, fresh seafood. My home town is not close to the ocean and doesn't have great seafood, so anytime I visit an area near the ocean, that's what I look for. As we all know, when visiting an unfamiliar area there are more misses than hits. "On the Waterfront" was a home run. I had the baked fisherman's platter, with haddock, stuffed shrimp, and scallops. This was the best seafood meal I had while in the area. The setting is nice too, overlooking a marina, which puts me in the right mood for a good seafood dinner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenalcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After checking TripAdvisor reviews, I selected On the Waterfront for a dinner for 7 high school classmates (and 2 spouses) who hadn't seen each other for 50 years. I'm very happy with the choice -- they did an excellent job for us. With such a great view of the river and harbor, they could slide on the food, but they don't! Service for our group was excellent and unobtrusive, the food was of high quality, conversation was easy. Next time we're in the area, we'll go back as a couple and pay more attention to the food and view.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mleonard6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The food and service were excellent. Wonderful view. Good size portions. Had the best calamari we have ever had. Very reasonably priced. Really enjoyed the food and would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Doylestown_PAGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to On the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing