We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly new and different!”
Review of Gaspar's New American Cuisine - CLOSED

Gaspar's New American Cuisine
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gaspar's is a small cozy restaurant on New London's Bank street. Serving high quality food at fair prices for lunch and dinner, join us for our sunday Brunch.At Gaspar's, we serve only the best meats, whether you're looking for a NY strip or a suculant Ribeye it's always USDA "Prime." Each one of our steaks has been hand picked to be the best. If you're looking for fresh seafood, you've found the right place. Being so close to the water has more than one advatage, among these are the fresh locally caught seafood, like our Stonington Sea Scallops. We support the "Farm to Table" movement not only in vegetables but also the seafood we offer. We have a wide selection of both beer and wine. Our top shelf liquor selection is second to none. We have 24 premium Tequilas on deck, our Scotch selection represents the regions of Scotland in 3 different ages, and Vodka drinkers we have what you're looking for. Come taste our signature drinks, then let our chefs take your tastebuds to a new level.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Refreshingly new and different!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This very new restaurant must have an excellent chef surrounded by inexperienced staff! That said, we had a wonderful diner for four at a reasonable price with wine and cocktails. The waitstaff is obviously inexperienced but they are working toward a goal of first rate service. I think our water glasses were filled 12 times-which just shows you how hard they are trying but how inexperienced they are! When the food came out all the inexperience worries went away-what wonderful entrees we had!! Great tuna, great roast duck, great everything-- even the salad! We recommend it and shall return. We suggest they do something to absorb the noise in the front room where the bar is and where we dined because it was a bit noisy for normal conversations-overall a GREAT dining experience!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    36
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“perfect except for odd handling of a shift change”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were having a perfect dinner. Great mix of tastes at the right price but toward the end suddenly our friendly and professional waitress vanished unanounced and a waiter finally appeared to hand us the bill keeping from asking any question or saying anything pleasant. We had noted him being great with other tables so this lack of gracefulness in covering for a shift change plus the long delay in our trying to pay harmed an otherwise perfect visit. The owner and hostess spent a long period sitting at a nearby table with friends so stopped their checking on how things were going at exactly the wrong time for us. I assume this is the exception to the rule!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hmmmm...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have visited this restaurant a couple times, each time with different friends. The food was good, if a bit expensive, but the service was verrrrry slow both times we went. In fact the first time, a comp bottle of wine was sent over to apologize as we watched others being served before us even though we arrived before them! Because this happened both times, we went, we are hesitant to go back....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryandTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE USA
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Gaspar's”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a great place: quality fresh food, personable service, and nice atmosphere. We started witha nice selection of wine and a steak tartar and the Rhode Island chowder. I had the lobster ravioli and greatly appreciate the homemade pasta and quality ingredients. We also had the scallop entree and were very satisfied. We shared a dessert and were very pleased with every aspect of our dining experience, on a Monday night. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Gem”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We found this restaurant on Trip Finder. The food was awesome. The waitress and bar tender were friendly. The owner stopped by our table several times and asked how everything was. For a Tuesday night they had a good crowd. I would highly recommend. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmckayathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaspar's New American Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing