We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Home-made Food”

Sweetie's Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #12 of 145 Restaurants in New London
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Home-made Food”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a fun place that has a great retro 1950s feel. It is more of a cafe than a bakery. The baked good selection appeared to be primarily squares and "design-your-own" cupcakes. The squares are massively rich - you could probably share one with 3 or 4 other people! They also have an old-time soda fountain that looks enticing.

My dining companion had the Greek omelet with home fries (both white and sweet potatoes) and home-made bread and swore it was one of the best breakfasts she had ever eaten! I had the chicken Ruben sandwich made with real chicken sliced off a roasted chicken and home-made rye bread. It was a top quality sandwich and incredibly filling. If you order it, I recommend a different bread since their rye is quite sweet with molasses - not the taste you want on a Rueben.

The place appears to be short staffed in the morning: there was just one guy taking orders, cooking, and cleaning up. I don't know if that is the normal state of affairs, but they should really have 2 people there to keep up.

If you are in New London, do not miss this place. It is on a one-way street so it is a bit tricky to find. It is close to the train station and ferry terminal, so the perfect place to grab a bite before travelling. I assure you that you will not have to eat again for a long time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sweet and oh so delicious!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've frequented Sweetie's on several occasion and everytime it's been a delight. Aaron and Lindsay are friendly, knowledgable and put together a winning combo (literally!) of food and dessert.
I recommend the Scotty's omelette and if you're there on Sunday their homemade biscuits and gravy is amazing. And don't forget to pick up a dessert or 4 before leaving. There is always a wide selection in the case or pick up a cupcake from the cupcake bar. Yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh Food and Friendly Staff!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Whenever I am in New London for business I always make my way to Sweetie's for a sandwich or even just a coffee.

I'm a vegetarian and they offer a selection of vegetarian friendly sandwich choices on their own freshly baked bread. All that I have had has been delicious! Unfortunately I have not yet tried any of their patries but all look AMAZING!

I stopped in before a long drive home an got a green eye coffee drink. I think they said it contained 3 shots of espresso! Just the right choice for my drive home. They also offer almond milk! Yay! They also do milkshakes :)

Everyone I have spoken to at Sweetie's has been nothing but genuinely nice and friendly. This is a great place with great food and staff. I HIGHLY recommend Sweetie's to everyone in the New London area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoriad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amston, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Delicious every time! Very friendly staff - great sandwiches as well as very yummy treats! We've never been disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
se ct
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Cupcake in Years!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just had a Mango Margarita cupcake ... Was DELICIOUS!!! Really unique flavor, light and not too sweet, just wonderful! This is an absolute "gotta come back" kind of place. Owner friendly & informative on the menu items - took time to chat. Coffee delicious as well - nice and fresh.

And this place is TOO adorable! Sweet shop from the 50's look, even on the gloomiest of days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kambea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetie's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sweetie's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing