We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, expensive parking”
Review of Ocean Beach Park

Ocean Beach Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in New London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New England's finest beach and boardwalk attractions including mini golf course, rides, water slides, kiddy spray park, olympic pool, arcade, gift shop, food concessions, cafe with restaurant, banquet and catering facilities, picnic area, health club, nature walk
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
CT
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice beach, expensive parking”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ocean Beach is a lovely day trip and a nice Connecticut beach. While several beaches in CT are rocky and small, Ocean Beach has soft sand and some mild waves (there is a bit of undertow). They have a small boardwalk. Snack type food is available or you can bring in a picnic.

Some pros - they have a big clean pool, mini-golf, and some covered benches so you can enjoy the atmosphere without the sun.

Some cons - expensive parking, extra fees for the pool and mini-golf. The arcade is dark and dank and outdated. The gift shop has the minimum bare essentials.

Overall, the beach is quite nice and if you're going with a lot of people to spend a day, it's a good deal. If you're just going for a short visit or if you want to do activities, it could be quite expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank littlecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    96
    39
    18
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Little Park On The Ocean”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

White sandy beach with a relatively new boardwalk. The rides and concession stands were all closed, but it was still beautiful. I guess when everything is open you will have to pay the $15 parking fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purvis, MS
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice view. Facilities & beach need updating.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ocean Beach Park was nothing amazing.

View is nice; but the beach itself is a little dirty. The facilities there need some updating as well.

For whatever reason we were not charged for admission when going (so I can't really vouch for the pricing).

Overall; the area could be nicer if someone with some serious money decided to invest in the property.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OLD, overtpriced and badly kept”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I do not know why people would pay that much for a small patch of very coarse sand.
All the buildings are old and not kept. for swimming water gets deep fast and it is full of dirt and jellyfish.
All the "attractions are very old too.
There is a much better beach across the small river from the salt marsh.
Also there are way better beaches in state parks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ipekur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
“Okay for seeing the ocean. And people.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My young sons wanted to see and go in the ocean. I knew there would be jellyfish from reading the reviews, so I pointed them out and the boys ran (sometimes straight into another ones) when we saw them. The beach and facilities were dirty (garbage and cigarette butts). One of my children and I were itching like crazy after we went in the ocean, making me wonder about... well, what else is in the ocean? Toxic waste that makes us itch? I rinsed the itchy, crying kid off in the faucet, and he agreed to go on a few rides before going to the hotel to get cleaned off (and stop itching). The rides were really just for little kids, my oldest couldn't even go on most of them. The lifeguards were nice and helpful, we didn't really check out the arcade or golf because there were SO MANY PEOPLE. And yes, the parking fee is outrageous (especially for us, as we only stayed about 90 minutes).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing