We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent gem in New London”
Review of Garde Arts Center

Garde Arts Center
Ranked #10 of 37 things to do in New London
Attraction details
Warren, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Magnificent gem in New London”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This venue was PERFECT for the event I attended, the Miss Connecticut America Pageant. Absolutely gorgeous interior. My crew of 8 were seated in the Loge with perfect views. Beautiful snack areas as well. Parking is on street or at a garage (charged $5 for this event) around the corner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank missri1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Entertainment at its best!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Garde Arts Center has been restored to the Moroccan interior it featured when it was a vaudeville theater in the 1920s and has become a fantastic venue for all sorts of programming for all ages. Broadway shows, movies, debates and lectures, ballet, opera, Eastern CT Symphony and other musical events are just of a few of the things happening here. The Garde also offers several programs a year for children. Highly-recommended...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungryandTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of New London”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A fantastic theater here in little ole New London. I've taken advantage of their movie series they done lately. I thought it was great time. What a beautiful place can't wait to see a show there!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“local Arts”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Always something going on. Shows, debates, other entertainment. If that is your thing this is your place.

Helpful?
Thank userChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Garde is New London's jewel!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just because I haven't been there this month, doesn't mean it's not the best place in town. The Garde gives New London class with a year-around calendar of great plays, concerts and events. I often see plays in New York City but I fully enjoy the ones I see at the Garde, which are well done. The Garde has got the best entertainment for miles around.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dottie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garde Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to Garde Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing