We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recomended”
Review of Leon's Restaurant - MOVED

Leon's Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Canal Dock Road
Description: Since 1938, Leon's Restaurant has been synonymous with exceptional Italian food. Executive Chef and Owner, Edward E. Varipapa, continues the Italian tradition at this exquisite family owned and operated restaurant. With outstanding International and Italian dishes in a friendly, comfortable, family atmosphere, Leon's continues to be a community favorite. We offer an extensive menu and Leon's famous signature creations-Pane Cotto, Gypsy Chicken and Calabrese peppers, to name just a few-are prominently featured on the menu along with the ever-changing "Goodie List". We offer "Chef's Table" every Tuesday evening and "Sunday Supper" on Sunday. If your going to the TOYOTA-OAKDALE THEATER we are conveniently located 9 minutes (4.4miles) away. Going to visit Quinnipiac University - we are 12 minutes (5.1 miles) away. We are located adjacent to Quinnipiac Univerity's North Haven campus.
orange ct.
1 review
“Highly Recomended”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My date and I had filet minion dinner appitizers 2 bottles of wine desert and expresso. It was the best restaurant I've ever been to. 5 stars in New Haven. Spectacular Harbor Views. We would definately go again. Met Ed the owner, extremely nice gentlemen also sent over complimentary after dinner drink. SPECTACULAR

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    16
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a wasted opportunity”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Waterfront view, great reputation and such a disappointment. From the moment my wife walked in she noticed the section in front of the bar with the best views was empty, if not cluttered almost messy! The dining room itself we walked by the service bar and a bar tender who barely made eye contact as we were in her space!. The wait staff at the table was very friendly and efficient. The food, at best, was ok but not worth the price. I rarely take home any leftovers but the veal was just overcooked and the eggplant had no flavor and baked cheese was to chewy. My wife's scrod was good but the pate was a mish-mosh presentation of pasta and vegetables. The clams were good and the bean/greens appetizer tasty but burnt! C'mon. Sorry, not on the list to go back to. If your searching for great food in New Haven - so many other good choices. This place needs a major makeover.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3nicks27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
230 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Food on the Water”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stopped by Leon's after a trip to New Haven. I had not been there since it was located in the neighborhood. It is now on Long Wharf overlooking the mouth of the Quinnipiac River and the NH Harbor. We took a seat on the deck and enjoyed a dry Italian white wine (Soave Inama). Fresh oysters were excellent with the vinegar dressing as was the Pane cotto. The Athenian scallops were nicely done and were a generous portion leaving some for lunch the next day. The Zuppa di Pesce was very good with al dente pasta, scallops, calamari, shrimp, Alaskan King Crab, and lobster tali, again a very large portion. Service was jovial and attentive. All in all a very pleasant and tasty meal. Cappaccino was nice though the Macchiato could have used a bit more foam.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillP1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice waitstaff but bad food”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We went yesterday for Mother's Day bruch and it was not good. The buffet was dirty, the food was cold and soggy, the bagels were stale, the cream cheese was warm, and the food was not replenished quickly enough. It was very expensive for what we were given and we were all disappointed. I used to waitress at a restuarant that did brunch for Mother's Day so I KNOW how much work it is and can understand, but this was just awful. My mom and I barely ate because we were grossed out by how dirty the buffet was. With all this said, our waitress was very nice and upbeat, however we will not be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glh517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven ct.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

over rated over priced and just so so so food. views were great but thats all at this restaurant.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank travnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing