We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new go-to work/study spot!”
Review of Book Trader Cafe

Book Trader Cafe
Ranked #69 of 634 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: $5 - $12
Description: The Book Trader Cafe offers a range of delicious gourmet sandwiches, coffees, and homemade soups & pastries as well as gently used, conservatively priced books for the general or academic reader. Vegan & gluten-free options are available daily.
Restaurant details
Description: The Book Trader Cafe offers a range of delicious gourmet sandwiches, coffees, and homemade soups & pastries as well as gently used, conservatively priced books for the general or academic reader. Vegan & gluten-free options are available daily.
Reviewed January 10, 2019

This has become my go-to work/study coffee shop. There is more ample seating than in other coffee shops downtown; the ambience is great (books all around, lots of natural light streaming through the indoor solarium area, music generally not too loud, good access to electrical outlets, free wifi), and they make a tasty vanilla chai. The soups and sandwiches I've tried so far (the Tempesto sandwich and one with turkey and Russian sauce; potato rosemary bisque soup) have been very good. Service is prompt and you are free to spend all day there without being hassled or feeling you're taking up too much space. One star docked because the space (floors, bathroom) could stand to be a little cleaner.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ultimau5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2018

This is a cute little place to hang out in. I was there on a Friday afternoon and the place was full of students hanging out. Prices for drinks seem to be slightly cheaper than some of the surrounding coffee shops; I tried the chocolate bread, which was moist and tasty. Good experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank play_doh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We stopped in at Book Trader Cafe yesterday and picked up a bunch of great used books. The selection is really excellent for a relatively small store.

We didn't have any food or drinks but they looked good! The outdoor seating was nice too.

We'd definitely return if in the area again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ameenadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

This is a great place if you enjoy reading or fiddling with your lap-top while eating or drinking coffee. The range of second-hand books is fantastic and inexpensive. The tea and coffee are prepared on the spot, the service is nice and friendly and relaxed. This is a most enjoyable site in a quiet part of town.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

I love coffee,books, and good wholesome food and this place filled all three! The food was incredibly fresh and delicious, nothing unrecognizable. I had a special, apple and brie panini on multi-grain bread with the green salad on the side. The vanilla chai was pleasantly sweet and delectable. Afterwards we browsed the books and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank lizzyces68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Trader Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Book Trader Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing