We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Close enough for government work"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Close enough for government work"”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here on a leg of an epic college-visiting trip with my son, and we were there to see Yale.

My first impression was the cheerfulness and positive attitude of the front desk personnel. After a long drive from Houston (via Washington DC) this was welcome.

The room was OK, neither great nor terrible. I had two other impressions, though:

I liked the Greek Olive, the restaurant in the hotel. A good menu at decent prices, which surprised me for this part of the country. However, I wish there a sound-proofed barrier between the restaurant and the rather rowdy bar.

I was frustrated with the breakfast buffet: Most of the better items (such as waffle batter) were finished by the time we got there, and there was no sign that they would be replenished.

Overall, though I would probably stay there again if I had the opportunity (e.g. if my son gets into Yale).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRoss47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    132
    112
    96
    92
See reviews for
177
77
54
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed in many La Quinta Inns as we always have our dogs with us. I have always had great service, clean rooms and resonable pricing. Not here, we had a reservation for 3 people planning on using the sofa bed, but the sofa bed had no linens had to ask for them, and then they were just handed to me to make the bed. The bathroom was filty and only 2 towels for 3 people, on face cloths or hand towels. We were charged 2 different prices for each day we were there, not a holiday just a weekend. This hotel is not worthy of the La Quinta Inn name, the staff was rude and the breakfast was scary. Do not recomeend.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Haven hotels

syracuse ny
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I did not book ahead, was in the area and needed to spend the nite. Did not have reservations, googled for hotels and figured I was safe with La Quinta. We have stayed in other La Quintas and have always been impressed at the cleanliness and quality for the price. This hotel is clearly letting the franchise down. The hotel lobby and common area on the first floor were fine. Nothing fancy, but clean. But after I checked in and went to my room, wow, what a mess. The halls were smelly and humid. Wall ights were missing the decorative covers, just bare bulbs in one area. There were numerous HUGE water stains all over the hall carpets. Our room was ok, in terms of the beds, the sheets were clean, but the rest of the room was a disgustingly dirty mess. The bathroom had mold around the calk in the shower. The fan in the bathroom had INCHES of dust on the outlets. The floor in the bedroom area had stains on the carpet. The floor was uneven, dipped in certain places and there were cracks in the ceiling. Not sure if the hotel is settling? It is directly across from I-95, maybe all the motion from the passing trucks?? anyway, I digress. The one chair in front of the desk was originally a yellow color, but the seat of the chair was brown from all the dirt and grime. The curtains didn't close all the way so all nite long the lights from 1-95 and the parking lot lights shone through, keeping me awake. The free breakfast the next morning was par for this chain, nothing great, but hey, its free. I'd give up the free breakfast for a clean hotel room anyday. The staff were friendly and nice. But it is clearly time for them to do some major cleaning and renovations to this property. Do not stay here if you have a better option! I wish I had taken some pictures so you could see that I am not exaggerating about how dirty things were...just trust me. I couldn't wait to get home and take a shower in a clean shower minus the MOLD!!

Room Tip: just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

La Quinta Inn in new Haven offered extremely friendly and helpful staff, free shuttle rides to campus, comfortable, clean affordable rooms, and a tasty extensive breakfast spread. I would certainly return again. It is next door to Ikea which most college kids visit to furnish their rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank 62valeriew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Exceptionally gracious and helpful staff. Transportation back and forth to hospital was very much appreciated. Happy to be able to book a smoking room. Décor could stand an updating, but everything worked well. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank anneselvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Everything about this hotel was wrong. I'm pretty sure I saw a drug deal go down in the parking lot. Common areas and our room were dirty, the ceiling was cracked and had peeling paint, bathroom was dirty, shower curtain didn't even fit. As we were arriving other "guests" were showing up carrying large liquor bottles. If I was traveling alone I would never have stayed here, even with 2 other companions it was creepy and we couldn't wait to get out of there the next morning. Does LaQuinta not require there franchise owners to meet any standards?

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank itraveltheworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After traveling from Greenville North Carolina to New Haven Connecticut, and arriving at the LaQuinta we were not impressed!! A bus load of tired and weary travelers were greeted by one employee checking in guest. I must admit she was courteous and professional and moved the line along as quickly as one person could. This LaQuinta is below standard in cleanliness! The swimming pool had several children playing, but when i looked closer at the water, there was a cigarette butt floating at one end of the pool!! Many of us had to catch the hotel shuttle to Walmart to get some clean up supplies! Lets move on to the room. OMG! The floor had not been vacuumed (as well as the hallways), one towel and washcloth, no trash cans, a hairy bathtub lined with mildew!!! Questionable bed linen!! Just too much to comment on!!!! After 95% of the bus complaining I am told we will be reimbursed for one night!
We are truly at the mercy of LAQUINTA , being we have an agenda scheduled trip. It's my hope that whomever is responsible will "TIGHTEN UP" on the cleanliness and efficiency at LAQUINTA or CLOSE DOWN ENTIRELY!! My only question, where's the HEALTH INSPECTORS?? This place certainley didn't get like this over night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.7 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.5 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#7 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Address: 400 Sargent Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing