We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, FANTASTIC staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were swooping in for less than a 12 hour stay as we waited for a connecting train, and this hotel was fine for that. Its in a great location for the station, at a fair price and offers nice accommodations. It was the staff however that made this place stand out. Even at 6am as we were headed out, they were friendly and proved to go above and beyond for their customers. After they called us their shuttle, and we were dropped off, I flakishly left my purse in the shuttle and panicked. Our train was less than an hour from leaving. By the time we could even call the front desk, Tasha, the super receptionist, had checked the purse with a witness and sent it back over to the station, thus saving my day. All safe on this end, and I send out huge thanks! You and your crew rescued me from an awful end to a wonderful trip, as there was a picture in my purse that couldn't be replaced.

If you're coming in from the trains, this is a fine location. The rooms are clean, the lobby is pleasant, and the noise level isn't bad!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayvneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 573 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Don't get taken in by the prices advertised on a large banner outside the hotel - the receptionist informs you that the rates vary ....even on a week night !! Rather expensive for what you get. Very old building but clean comfortable room. Breakfast provided comparable to other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelocheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel provided help above and beyond for graduation weekend. There were shuttles to and from New Haven and the hotel helped us check in early and store luggage late for our graduate. The people who helped us were friendly and helpful!
The room could have been a little cleaner and they had so many folks for graduation weekend that they ran out of pillows, (we rolled up an extra towel instead) but the suite was well appointed and all in all, we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank JillinJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

When i had to go for the gradution at YALE at the last minute I could not find hotel as all the hotels are book a year ahead.After a lot of internet surfing I found this place.
Before i checked in I was not quite sure of the area and the hotel.It turned out to be agood choice better than the high priced ones.The gentleman at the checkin time was helpful as we got there before time helped us to store the luggage as the room was not when the lady there refused saying no space.The lady when we checkedout was very helpful.The inn provides transport to anywhere in Newhaven with 3 vans free at our requested times we were driven by engineer and norman I think they were very helpful as were foreigners we were not quite sure of the area.I strongly recommend this to anyone visiting YALE.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SE s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good spot for travelers at the interchange for 95 and 91 with easy access. The room was clean and orderly. The 5th floor corridor smelled of stale smoke. Free wifi and breakfast were very good.

Room Tip: even numbered floors have ice and vending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights when visiting Newhaven. The Hotel is only a couple of miles from the centre of town, near the freeway. There was a nice Italian restaurant a few yards away where we ate both nights and a Greek restaurant in the same building. Rooms were a good size, comfortable and clean. The complimentary Wi-Fi was reliable.

The rooms were a good price but we were awake both nights once caused by a rough woman speaking for over an hour on her cell phone in the corridor outside the door of our room and on the second night by a group of young people who appeared to be drunk on the floor above. I guess this is what happens when you stay at a low price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rooms (non-smoking) smelled like smoke . . . Front-desk not helpful . . . loud people . . . not a "classy" hotel at all . . . I suppose it's true that "you get what you pay for" . . . but even so this was not worth what I paid . . . Pay a little more and get a little better quality . . .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugsliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
606 reviews
3 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.5 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Address: 400 Sargent Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $86 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing