We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really love this hotel”
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I really love this hotel”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have stayed at the New Haven Hotel several times. So when I moved to New Haven and needed a temporary home for 9 nights while waiting to move into my new apartment, I choose to stay here again. The staff truly did make this stay feel like I was at home. Also the rooms are warm, inviting - clean and comfy. The bed is so comfortable (I noticed on my last stay there) that I bought one through "The Sealy Guest Purchase" program. I am now settled in, but thank the NH Hotel for their support and comfort while I made the transition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible and facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    246
    79
    18
    25
See reviews for
150
132
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at the New Haven Hotel in early December and I cannot say that I was very impressed with my experience. When I arrived at the hotel, it took several minutes before someone acknowledged me at the Front Desk for check-in. When they did, it seemed like there was an abundant amount of information being provided to the point it was slightly overwhelming. When I made it to my room, I inspected the cleanliness and found a long strand of hair in the walk-in shower and was not very pleased. The staff did go out of their way to take care of it, but it wasn't something that I looked forward to when arriving at my hotel room. The remainder of my stay at the hotel went without incident; however, it did put a sour taste in my mouth. I'm hoping that if and when I return that these issues will not occur again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a nice hotel in the center of town. Room was clean and large, with a good mattress. It has a very good gym. Staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely a place to return to. I'd recommend it for business travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year's, the hotel was very quiet. The room had obviously been redone: the beds were comfortable, the sheets soft, the furniture modern with a large flat screen TV. Our bathroom was also modern with only a shower (no tub). We had some problems with the toilet.

The hotel seemed a bit isolated and we were disappointed that breakfast was not included. The other negative was the price of parking, we just left our car at the train station (since we stayed after coming back with the train) and walked one way (about 15 minutes) and took the free downtown shuttle back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelGoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay when you are in New Haven. We received a fantastic rate which helped off-set the cost of parking in the garage across the street. Very friendly staff. Very clean & updated rooms. While you're there make sure you go to PePe's Pizza which is fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We reserved a block of rooms for our son's wedding. We were very pleased at the clean, nicely appointed rooms, spacious lobby for our family reunion, and prompt responses to our needs. The hotel is walking distance to many good restaurants and not too far from the heart of campus. The New Haven Hotel was a great choice for our family event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

New Haven Hotel. I stayed here for one night on a short business trip. It is conveniently located downtown New Haven, but requires a taxi ride if you arrive by train. This is no more than a 5-7 minute ride. The main campus of Yale is a few blocks away, and easily within walking distance. The hotel is a fairly old hotel but appears to have undergone a renovation in recent times, and it is very contemporary in its decoration. Hotel reception was friendly and welcoming, and provided excellent advice on local restaurants for meals. A bonus was the happy hour in the lobby in the evening, serving wine, cheese and finger food. This was delightful. The room was located on the third floor with a nondescript view over back entrances to shops. It was very comfortable, cosy, and with good working space. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was functional, typical of a fairly old hotel. Internet was free, and worked well – strong and stable.

Room Tip: ask always to check inside a room if you have doubts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.3 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
99 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Property: New Haven Hotel
Address: 229 George St, New Haven, CT 06510-3200
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing