We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Block of rooms for a wedding”
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Block of rooms for a wedding”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We reserved a block of rooms for our son's wedding. We were very pleased at the clean, nicely appointed rooms, spacious lobby for our family reunion, and prompt responses to our needs. The hotel is walking distance to many good restaurants and not too far from the heart of campus. The New Haven Hotel was a great choice for our family event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    248
    79
    18
    26
See reviews for
152
135
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

New Haven Hotel. I stayed here for one night on a short business trip. It is conveniently located downtown New Haven, but requires a taxi ride if you arrive by train. This is no more than a 5-7 minute ride. The main campus of Yale is a few blocks away, and easily within walking distance. The hotel is a fairly old hotel but appears to have undergone a renovation in recent times, and it is very contemporary in its decoration. Hotel reception was friendly and welcoming, and provided excellent advice on local restaurants for meals. A bonus was the happy hour in the lobby in the evening, serving wine, cheese and finger food. This was delightful. The room was located on the third floor with a nondescript view over back entrances to shops. It was very comfortable, cosy, and with good working space. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was functional, typical of a fairly old hotel. Internet was free, and worked well – strong and stable.

Room Tip: ask always to check inside a room if you have doubts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I don't look for much. Christmas week it was very quiet. Best pillowtop beds I have seen in years. Good pillow selection, top quality towels, plenty of water pressure in the shower. These are my favorite things. Also a decent hi def TV with actual hi def cable, and a DVD player and fridge to boot. Minimal amenities - no in house food service, no hair conditioner. But there are dozens of great restaurants within a 3 block walk. Relatively reasonable secure parking with in and out access. Overall a great choice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank srb1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Like another reviewer here, my visit was not for pleasure; it was for a visit to share time with someone in Yale New Haven Hospital. For that purpose, this hotel is very well located.

The facility itself is MUCH nicer than I imagined, although I’ll question the review that called it “best in the US.” It is clean and comfortable; it is very nicely appointed. The room was large, and the reports of recent upgrade are accurate. The business center even had an Apple computer (among others, AND a working printer).

Reservations were easy, staff check-in and out were courteous and professional. Breakfast, too, was better than expected, with equal courtesy and professionalism. I did not use the fitness center or laundry, but I note them as nice amenities.

A very nice lobby, if that’s important, and excellent in-room televisions, too. My partner and I both found the bedding EXTREMELY comfortable.

No complaints; highly recommended; I WILL return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infiniti009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I preface the review by saying that we were in New Haven because a family member was admitted to Yale-New Hospital for emergency surgery. Distraught and fatigued, we arrived at the New Haven Hotel where the staff was kind and very helpful. The hotel was tastefully appointed with classical styling. The chairs and beds were comfortable and the towels and other ancillaries were high quality. The central location of the hotel made it easy to get to the hospital as well as places such as the train station. I hope to return at a time when I can relax and really enjoy the ambience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the New Haven about 5 years ago (with a great Priceline deal) and really liked the location, so booked a regular rate for the day after Thanksgiving (but with parking and tax, you've got another $50 tacked on). Rooms were bigger than I remember and the lobby looked a little more grand than I remembered too. Most of the staff was great except for one woman who didn't want to let us park a few extra hours on a very dead Sat. in the garage, but everyone else was fine with it. Big TV, great bathroom and products. It's too bad they don't have a nice lounge but other than that, no complaints. Except that Orangesides donut making machine was broken so we couldn't test those out. Great baked good at Atticus Cafe & Bookstore tho.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My extended family was celebrating Thanksgiving in New Haven (our hometown) at my sister's house and there were too many people for the number of beds in her house, so I surfed the internet and saw that I could get the best deal at the New Haven Hotel (with my AAA membership). I was not familiar with this establishment but the pictures looked nice and it was so reasonable and convenient. I stayed in one room with two Queen beds with my 2 daughters and one of their friends. We loved it - clean, comfortable, large beds with nice linens, very nice staff, attractive lobby, convenient to all locations. I would definitely go back. The only negative was the parking - $20 in the garage across the street. I didn't make a comparison on that but my guess is that it's the same at the other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIami5290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.3 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Property: New Haven Hotel
Address: 229 George St, New Haven, CT 06510-3200
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing