We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, best beds!”
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value, best beds!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I don't look for much. Christmas week it was very quiet. Best pillowtop beds I have seen in years. Good pillow selection, top quality towels, plenty of water pressure in the shower. These are my favorite things. Also a decent hi def TV with actual hi def cable, and a DVD player and fridge to boot. Minimal amenities - no in house food service, no hair conditioner. But there are dozens of great restaurants within a 3 block walk. Relatively reasonable secure parking with in and out access. Overall a great choice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank srb1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    248
    79
    18
    26
See reviews for
152
135
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Like another reviewer here, my visit was not for pleasure; it was for a visit to share time with someone in Yale New Haven Hospital. For that purpose, this hotel is very well located.

The facility itself is MUCH nicer than I imagined, although I’ll question the review that called it “best in the US.” It is clean and comfortable; it is very nicely appointed. The room was large, and the reports of recent upgrade are accurate. The business center even had an Apple computer (among others, AND a working printer).

Reservations were easy, staff check-in and out were courteous and professional. Breakfast, too, was better than expected, with equal courtesy and professionalism. I did not use the fitness center or laundry, but I note them as nice amenities.

A very nice lobby, if that’s important, and excellent in-room televisions, too. My partner and I both found the bedding EXTREMELY comfortable.

No complaints; highly recommended; I WILL return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infiniti009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I preface the review by saying that we were in New Haven because a family member was admitted to Yale-New Hospital for emergency surgery. Distraught and fatigued, we arrived at the New Haven Hotel where the staff was kind and very helpful. The hotel was tastefully appointed with classical styling. The chairs and beds were comfortable and the towels and other ancillaries were high quality. The central location of the hotel made it easy to get to the hospital as well as places such as the train station. I hope to return at a time when I can relax and really enjoy the ambience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the New Haven about 5 years ago (with a great Priceline deal) and really liked the location, so booked a regular rate for the day after Thanksgiving (but with parking and tax, you've got another $50 tacked on). Rooms were bigger than I remember and the lobby looked a little more grand than I remembered too. Most of the staff was great except for one woman who didn't want to let us park a few extra hours on a very dead Sat. in the garage, but everyone else was fine with it. Big TV, great bathroom and products. It's too bad they don't have a nice lounge but other than that, no complaints. Except that Orangesides donut making machine was broken so we couldn't test those out. Great baked good at Atticus Cafe & Bookstore tho.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My extended family was celebrating Thanksgiving in New Haven (our hometown) at my sister's house and there were too many people for the number of beds in her house, so I surfed the internet and saw that I could get the best deal at the New Haven Hotel (with my AAA membership). I was not familiar with this establishment but the pictures looked nice and it was so reasonable and convenient. I stayed in one room with two Queen beds with my 2 daughters and one of their friends. We loved it - clean, comfortable, large beds with nice linens, very nice staff, attractive lobby, convenient to all locations. I would definitely go back. The only negative was the parking - $20 in the garage across the street. I didn't make a comparison on that but my guess is that it's the same at the other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIami5290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in a suite with a king-sized bed - very reasonably priced. The room was nicely furnished and included a couch, desk and a very large TV equipped with a DVD player. The number of outlets on the desk and around the room were impressive - the most I've seen. There were plenty of pillows and the closet came with an ironing board and iron. The walls were decorated with big photos of various Yale buildings.

The negatives: The shower was just ok, with not enough hot water. I'd skip the breakfast as it was so-so - although not expensive. Although the hotel is located only a couple of blocks from nice shopping, restaurants, and Yale, it seems somewhat isolated - especially at night. Where it is on George Street is industrial - across from a parking garage with nothing on that block.

Overall, however, I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lectus_prandiumque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was in town for interviews at Yale and was very pleased with my stay at the New Haven Hotel. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The lobby is just as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures. The rooms are very nice and clean. Plenty of space. Great wi-fi. My only recommendation to the hotel was that they add conditioner to the toiletries they supply (soap, bath gel, shampoo, and lotion). Otherwise was an excellent stay and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.3 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Property: New Haven Hotel
Address: 229 George St, New Haven, CT 06510-3200
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing