We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel so far”
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best hotel so far”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Been in USA for 14 days now, and New Haven hotel is the best so far! Clean, new, great location, complimentary coffee and WiFi in the room, soft bed. Lots of good restaurants and bars around the area. Would definitely go back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindaB479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Manager at New Haven Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for being our guests at the New Haven Hotel and writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

We are very excited about our completed renovation of the New Haven Hotel. Our guest rooms are the most well appointed in New Haven, with top quality mattresses and luxury linens, custom furniture, 42” flat screen HD televisions, CD/MP3 players with ipod docks, electronic safes and mini fridges/freezers. Our business center is open for guest use and we have free wireless internet throughout the hotel. The stunningly renovated lobby features marble details, seating areas with flat screen televisions, our custom art installation, custom chandeliers, beautiful fireplace, and complimentary weekly evening manager’s reception.

One of the most luxurious downtown hotels in New Haven, the New Haven Hotel is conveniently located near all of the city's biggest attractions.

We hope that you will once again choose the New Haven Hotel for your next stay in New Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    252
    80
    18
    26
See reviews for
156
135
54
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was expecting much more based on previous reviews. It was fine, but really nothing special. We arrived after 9pm, so the front doors were locked and we had to call on an intercom to get entry access. Makes you question the neighborhood. They do a 'preauthorization' of your credit card for parking, breakfast, and incidentals. Not sure why that's necessary. We paid $18 extra for parking for one night. We had 2 adults and 2 teens in our party and the best we could get was a king with a pull out sofa bed. There was no bedding on the sofa bed, so the maintance person brought it to the room in a grey bin and I had to make up the sofa bed bed my self. There was no conditioner in the shower which was irritating. Again nothing special so if this is one of the highest rated hotels in New Haven, I'd probably stay here again because the other places must be worse.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5STARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Manager at New Haven Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of the New Haven Hotel.

Although we have chosen to adopt a nominal fee for parking, our parking charges are consistent and/or below that of the other hotels in the New Haven area.

We apologize for the lack of bedding on the sofa bed as well as the conditioner that was missing from your guest room. We will be reviewing your feedback with our Housekeeping Department.

We hope that you enjoyed your guest room with its top quality mattresses and luxury linens, custom furniture, 42” flat screen HD televisions, CD/MP3 players with iPod docks, electronic safes and mini fridges/freezers. Other hotel amenities include free wireless internet throughout the hotel, our stunning lobby featuring marble details, seating areas with flat screen televisions, our custom art installation, custom chandeliers, beautiful fireplace and on-site business center.

Many guests appreciate the convenient location of our hotel to downtown restaurants and attractions. Our hotel is the top choice for both visitors to Yale University and Medical Center, The Shubert Theater as well as for travelers doing business with one of the numerous corporations and New Haven local attractions.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again at the New Haven Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had a confirmed reservation but upon check-in at 6 pm was informed that they did not have a room for me. They sent me to the Courtyard which they offered "for the same price.". Only after asking did they offer a "reduced" rate - Courtyard's regular rate. This seems to have happened to others as well.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank naomi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Manager at New Haven Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of the New Haven Hotel. We appreciate guest feedback.

We apologize for the issues surrounding your reservation and will be looking into this further with the general manager.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in New Haven as the area is rich with restaurants and nightlife, attractions, shopping, outdoor recreation, and arts and culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this review while sitting and having a martini after a long drive to New Haven. Why am I sitting in a bar you ask? I'll tell you! Because when I went to check into my room after waiting in line 40 minutes to do so, I was haphazardly informed that "there were just no rooms available you should come back later" by the receptionist. ( I would like to remind everyone that check in time for the New haven hotel is listed on the website at 3 pm. It is now 6:15) When we asked how long it would be until a room would be available, her response was an ever informative " I don't know. We were fully booked last night". As if somehow that was meant to make me feel better about the situation? I will say that after 2 attempts at half hour intervals to receive any information on when our room might be ready, I am now attempting to quell the regret of spending any money at this hotel with a stiff drink. This hotels management should be ashamed of itself. If you value any semblance of customer service when making a reservation you will be sorely disappointed.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Manager at New Haven Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of the New Haven Hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

As you can appreciate, we have strict standard operating procedures for housekeeping at our hotel. We want to make sure the room is properly cleaned before it is occupied. On occasion, this may delay check in, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused and the manner in which this was communicated.

We hope that you enjoyed your guest room accommodations featuring top quality mattresses and luxury linens, custom furniture, 42” flat screen HD televisions, CD/MP3 players with iPod docks, electronic safes and mini fridges/freezers. In addition, we hope that you were able to take advantage of the many hotel amenities during your stay including our business center, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, our stunning lobby featuring marble details, seating areas with flat screen televisions, our custom art installation, custom chandeliers and beautiful fireplace.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again at the New Haven Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clean
Nice Lobby
Front desk is above average
There is a restaurant for breakfast (and I think lunch) but they are expensive
Nice (convenient) location
Go through Priceline or they are a bit expensive

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited the New Haven Hotel as part of a college trip with my husband and two teenage daughters. We narrowed it down to 3 hotels near Yale, and selected this one based on positive reviews and a relatively decent price. Based on some raves we'd read, I was disappointed with our experience. Our first room absolutely reeked of chlorine (my daughter wondered if there was a pool nearby), and --after complaining and checking two more rooms -- we concluded that they use some sort of heavy duty bleach to clean their bathrooms. Since the a/c wasn't on when we moved in, the odor was sickening. We cranked the fan and ran water in the bathroom to help dissipate the smell, but still noticed it every time we entered the room. A few other quibbles: the rooms was small (especially for four people), the towels were tiny and cheap (very surprising considering the overall quality of the fixtures, etc). In the morning, we tried to refill our coffees in the lobby and found dispensers empty...at 8:30 am. On the plus side, the beds were very comfortable, the fitness room was well appointment with quality equipment, and the location of the hotel was convenient to campus and restaurants. I knew when checking in -- but was still surprised -- that parking was quite pricey (almost as much as parking for 24 hours in NYC. That doesn't seem right). In a nutshell, it was fine but not spectacular, and I'd probably look somewhere else for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked a standard room for about 115$ and was really pleasantly surprised. The staff is very helpful, the hotel has been fully renovated and the room was absolutely amazing: spacious, clean, brand new furniture, great Queen-sized bed.
The location is good as it is within walking distance of Yale and many great bars and restaurants in the downtown area. However, the immediate vicinity of the hotel is a bit shady, but we still walked back to the hotel past midnight without any trouble.
Given the price, I think this hotel is amazing value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.3 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
103 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Property: New Haven Hotel
Address: 229 George St, New Haven, CT 06510-3200
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing