We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary theme park?”
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Scary theme park?”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

It is not a cheap hotel and the lobby is quite elegant, so you wouldn't expect your bathroom door crackling like in a scary movie, but it did; you wouldn't expect your telephone ringing at five o'clock in the morning and nobody saying anything in the other side, but it did; you wouldn't expect the ice machine in the corridor sounding like a chain saw, but it did; you wouldn't expect your refrigerator sounding like a sinister machine, but it did... if you ask me about sleeping, I have to tell you that I don't know what is that in New Haven Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cronista-xna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at New Haven Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for your review of the New Haven Hotel. We appreciate guest feedback.

After applying a little WD-40 to the bathroom door and making a quick adjustment to the ice machine, we believe your Steven King evening is unlikely to be repeated at the New Haven Hotel. The occasional wrong number on the phone is something we can not help with but apologize for nonetheless.

In general, if there is a problem with your accommodations or you are extremely noise sensitive, please inform our front desk staff who will be happy to assist with your concerns and move you to another room if available.

We are very excited about our completed renovation of the New Haven Hotel. As you mentioned, our elegant lobby features marble details, seating areas with flat screen televisions, our custom art installation, custom chandeliers, beautiful fireplace, and complimentary weekly evening manager’s reception. In addition, our guest rooms are the most well appointed in New Haven, with top quality mattresses and luxury linens, custom furniture, 42” flat screen HD televisions, CD/MP3 players with iPod docks, electronic safes and mini fridges/freezers.

We hope that you were able to take advantage of the free wireless internet in your guest room. In addition to this popular amenity, you may want to explore some of our other amenities on your next visit including our on site business center.
With our location in the heart of downtown New Haven, our hotel is the top choice for both visitors to Yale University and Medical Center, The Shubert Theater as well as for travelers doing business with one of the numerous corporations and New Haven local attractions.

The area is rich with restaurants and nightlife, attractions, shopping, outdoor recreation, and arts and culture. Within three blocks of the New Haven Hotel you’ll find the Shubert Performing Arts Center, Palace Theatre, Yale University Art Gallery, Yale Repertory Theatre, and the New Haven Symphony Orchestra.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again at the New Haven Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    246
    79
    18
    25
See reviews for
150
132
54
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for only one night but it served every purpose - wi fi , clean sheets,towels, flat screen 42" TV & plenty of room. Parking across the street but $15 per night :( . Not the best of views but pleasant enough . Make sure you visit Strada restaurant just around the corner - fantastic cocktails , lovely staff and nice food. It had only been open 5 days but the staff were very keen to please . Worth a visit - Yale is far nicer than Harvard ! X

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDXtraveler281
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Came here in early Sept for business in New Haven--right after Hurricane Irene. The hotel is beautiful--probably the nicest downtown (don't be fooled by the Omni name--it is down the street and depressingly awful). New, modern furniture in the lobby make for a nice gathering space. I think it could use a bar. Breakfast is in a small restaurant on the second floor and costs $13 for guests. The restaurant is only open for breakfast. The Hotel has all you would need for business, and after traveling for almost 2 weeks, we were glad they also had a small laundry room on the 7th floor, which is the floor we were on. The room amenities for setting up a laptop, and spreading out for work, are the best I've had. A small fridge is included. In our room on a corner of the 7th and highest floor, there was a loud compressor type noise that I found irritating. They tried to fix it, but determined that it was from the AC on the roof. Next day we moved to a room down the hall and all was fine. Staff responded immediately and were very helpful. One afternoon I was able to tour nearby Yale University, and if you like Gothic architecture, it is very interesting.

Room Tip: A room on the 7th floor will get you a nicer view and a small laundry room nearby, but beware of AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXtraveler281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for one night and it was great. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The parking is kind of odd so I would take your bags up to your room BEFORE going into the parking garage. The breakfast is not included so I did not try it, though it did smell good when I went by. The business center was well stocked and the printer worked like a champ. Good internet speed as well. The room was spotless and brand new. The entertainment center is a nice touch allowing you to easily make connections to the television (HDMI, VGA composite video, etc.) The supplied DVD player worked as well. The hotel is not part of any chain rewards system :(

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knhd976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Recently remodeled so it's clean & efficient. Great bathroom with extra storage drawers. No tub, but nice spacious shower. Rooms have a sofa, desk and large piece of furniture that has a safe (big enough for a laptop), refrigerator and clothes drawers. Large HD TV plus a DVD player. No breakfast is included and we never stopped at the in-hotel restaurant. Weeknights there is a complimentary cocktail hour (beer & wine) with hot snacks in the lobby. Parking is an extra fee $15 per night in the garage across the street. Easy walking distance to Yale and convenient access to Rt 95.

Room Tip: Used Priceline and scored at less than 50% of the rack rate. We were on the top floor (7th) with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnyrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very surprised at what a great hotel this was. It is not in a particularly aesthetic area; however, it is extremely modern, updated, and clean. You have to park in a parking garage across the street, and there is no free breakfast, but they have a restaurant on site. The beds are extremely comfortable and it is a quiet and relaxing place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traverseforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Attended a family wedding in New Haven, the bride & groom picked this hotel for everyone to stay at. Roughly 100 people stayed there for the night. Rooms were exceptionally clean & updated. Breakfast the next morning was very good. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.3 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
99 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Property: New Haven Hotel
Address: 229 George St, New Haven, CT 06510-3200
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing