We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful overnight stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Haven Village Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    123
    83
    40
    33
See reviews for
167
66
31
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a great hotel and I would stay any time I am in New Haven. The Staff is fantastic and will help you with anything. The rooms are a good size and allow you to control the heat/ac (cannot do this in most hotels because they preset the temp.). The rooms also come fully equipt in case you'd like to cook, but they also have a complimentary breakfast and dinner. Overall, a great price with great service make it hard to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: They have two size rooms, one bedroom and two bedroom loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently stayed here because our son had a lacrosse tournament at Yale. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There was a complimentary full breakfast which was also lovely. The room and grounds could use an overhaul. The couch was stained and smelt musty. The glass sliding door has a broken seal so it was cloudy and had water damage at the base. (see photos). The grout on the entrance way tiles were so dirty. I would not walk barefoot in any part of this suite. The room had a kitchenette but had no trash can anywhere!

Also, location was strange. It seemed as if we were pulling into a parking lot of an industrial complex and off to the side, is where the hotel was located. Nothing was in walking distance- no restaurants or stores.

No pool.

Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1202Howell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Haven hotels

Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in similar places like this over the NE of the US and this one ranks at the botom of all. Yes, they rent out mini appartmetns with spare rooms and a kitchen, but all in all the place is in poor repair (old and worn), the slit between room dor and outside, invites limbo dancers and the beds are as worn a the carpet. All that is once you a. find it and b. are brave enough to go in.
The worst part though was that I stayed here during a period of snow and despite the sjow being forecasted for a week,there was no clearing of snow whatsoever. I can accept that by 6:30 am on the same that little snow is clear bit after two days I was still sliding down the stairs on frozen ground. For comparison: in NJ I stayed at a similar hotel and there not only was the path cleared by 7:00 am, but I also got help clearing out the car w/o even asking. The guy showed up while I was trying to find the door handle.
Food area and food is subpar and had me go back to local restaurants or order in.

In shirt: a place to rest your head, if weary, but comfort is something entirely different...

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thore4869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Unfortunately the choices for hotels in the area are greatly limited. We checked in to one of the suites. Our first room had stains all over the couches. I then asked to change rooms. These couches were also stained and after being in the second room for no more than 45 minutes, my kids feet were BLACK from the dirt in the carpeting. When I complained to the manager, she suggested having the carpets cleaned, but they would be left "damp". She said they have the carpets cleaned 4 times a year. Perhaps they should consider replacing the carpets. We also had either a moldy pillow or a severly stained one. They didn't vacuum or clean the bathrooms every day. (We had been to the beach, so there was some sand in the bathroom.) The staff at the hotel was nice and polite. I feel sorry for them for having to work in such a dump!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 951James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
536 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

(This is an update of a review I did in December, 2012, reflecting changes the hotel has made since then.)

The Premiere is in a somewhat odd location in the long wharf area of New Haven, but don't let that deter you. Our room was a great value and ranks in quality with other hotels in the area that cost far more.

Our room was actually more like a small studio apartment, or what other hotels call an extended-stay suite--only the furnishings were much better than what I've experienced at extended-stay hotels. The breakfast, included in the price, was pretty good.

At previous stays I expressed my disappointment over the absence of in-room wifi. When I visited in December, there was an ethernet connection that you could use with a laptop, but if, like me, you use an iPad, you were out of luck and had to use the wifi in the main building where the breakfast is served, a minor inconvenience. I’m happy to report that on my most recent visit wifi had been installed for the individual rooms and I had no problem connecting, thus eliminating that flaw.

I did experience a different minor nuisance in my latest visit. The room keys are now flimsy cardboard with magnetic strips, very vulnerable to bending in your pocket. My keys didn’t work after returning from a day of activities and I had to get new ones from the office. They readily replaced them, but pointed out that the problem was the bent cardboard, as if to say it was my fault and that their use of cheap materials wasn’t the cause. I stated my case on this point and let it go at that.

I’ve read about the experiences of some other reviewers and can only say that in four visits, I have not yet experienced the same issues that they report.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor, but did not see an elevator to the second floor. If stairs are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

First, if you book through TripAdvisor, you will be charged at time of booking. Was a bit surprised, but it was OK. When I called back a month later to change dates for stay, agent checked to see if prices had changed, and they had gone down. That was nice.

We had a loft suite. It is a good size. King bed and bath down stairs along with small kitchenette and pullout sofa in small 'living room.' In loft, queen bed with another bath. That's nice. You could get a good number of people in one room. Breakfast in morning was fine, but not great. Evening meal was OK, but not great. Staff was very pleasant.

Price was more reasonable than other places in New Haven. This is likely because it is in the middle of an industrial area. Not much else very nearby. Kitchenette does need updating. And as mentioned by other(s), cleaning needs to improve. Top of fan above stove was not clean. We had popcorn on first night and a large piece fell on floor by desk in living room. It was still there the next two mornings. Toilet seat had cracks and pieces missing. Lots of other little things needing to be attended to, fixed, corrected. There is a small guest laundry room. Next door is the hotel laundry room where, of course, there are large washers and dryers. The large laundry room vents into the small guest laundry room, making it much too hot and humid for any guests to do any laundry.

I guess I can understand why some people may give this higher marks. I cannot and if were in the area again, I would not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
1.2 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
1.2 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Village Suites

Property: New Haven Village Suites
Address: 3 Long Wharf Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5900 (Formerly New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Village Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven Village Suites is a sparkling, family owned and operated, AAA Three Diamond rated, small independent New Haven hotel. The hotel's residential village-like setting offers recently renovated guest suites including a Clubhouse for gathering. The Studio Suites are 50% larger than a typical hotel room. New Haven Village Suites specializes in lodging for Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, business, government or family travel, employee relocations, temporary assignments or projects, emergency accommodations and a variety of medical lodging needs in the New Haven area. So what makes us New Haven Village Suites? By offering so many first rate complimentary services, and true New England hospitality, we are pleased that our guests have "shouted-out" praises resulting in the hotel being ranked as one of New Haven's best hotel values and "hidden gems". Our guests will never pay for Full Hot Buffet Daily Breakfast, offering enough to satisfy the hungriest travelers, light dinner from 5:30- 7:00 pm Monday through Wednesday, parking, local area shuttle service, business center, WIFI (Clubhouse), fitness center, local calls, or our friendly daily housekeeping service. Ask about our all inclusive living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Haven Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haven Premiere Hotel New Haven
Premiere Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing