We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Haven Village Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here in Nov 2012 for an interview at Yale. The hotel is close to the train station and about 10 min to Yale hospital. Free shuttle was nice to have but was 45 min late picking me up. The hotel is a converted apartment complex. I was upgraded to a two bed, two bath, two story townhouse with a full kitchen and fireplace. Beds were very comfy, tons of room in the suite. Wifii available in the main house but only wired internet in the rooms. Breakfast buffet had a nice spread.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager96, General Manager at New Haven Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the delay you experienced with our shuttle service. We have a number of guests who stay at the hotel who are interviewing with the Yale Residency programs and the shuttle is in high demand over those periods. I apolgize for the inconvenience you experienced with the delay. The Premiere Hotel was originally built as a Residence Inn by Marriott and the name was changed to the Premiere Hotel in 2007. The property has always operated as a hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations while you were here. We are very pleased to advise our guests that we are in the process of upgrading our internet access to wireless service. The upgrade will complete within the next week so wireless access will be available throughout the property. Again, thank you for your comments regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 435 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Front desk person was horrible. A good example that you shouldn't work with people if you don't like them. Outside wasn't properly maintained. Looked more like a Motel 8 feel than a "premiere" suite. Shuttle service very convenient but I'd look for other options should I come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barbstheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We found the rooms to be large, comfortable, but dated, with a kitchen sink, dishwasher and stove. The bed was very comfortable. There is wired internet in the rooms. We noted the staff to be helpful and friendly. There's a helpful shuttle service which will take you and pick you up in New Haven. You would need a shuttle or car to get anywhere from this hotel and it's about a five minute drive to the New Haven union station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent a week in New Haven at the Premiere Hotel and Will stay there on the next trip. As they are a little bit away from the downtown area they are just off Hwy 95 and easy to find. Everyone was very friendly and great service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is an awesome deal. They have shuttle services any where anytime and even a light dinner to make up for their somewhat off the track location. Literally, they are within walking distance from the New Haven Train Station but without a car, they are a bit away from downtown New Haven. This was just a great deal,comfortable clean updated room with a gas fireplace and a full kitchen in style....a sofa. Just off the wall great little place for the money, a better deal could not be had anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaWilberforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel matched the price-- I had a deal through Yale University for a lower price. I arrived late at night but was met considerately by the staff. The room was more of a suite with a full kitchen and free bag of popcorn along with standard coffee. The bed was very comfortable. The room was reasonably clean-- a couple hairs in the bathtub being the primary flaw I found. It was a fine location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is close to the train station too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfmonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here recently with a very small school party and we had two of the penthouse suites. The suites were extremely roomy with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a kitchen and living area. The beds were very comfortable and the internet was fast, although you are tied to an ethernet cable, which meant only one person could use it at a time. This would be a great apartment for families, but we were so busy that we barely made use of the kitchen facilities. The only thing I did was make a cup of tea, but although the kitchen is reasonably well equipped, there was no kettle. I was advised to use the coffee machine to boil water, but that seemed like a very inefficient method, (and as I don't drink coffee, I'm not particularly sure how those coffee machines work!) so I just put a saucepan of water on the stove.

The staff were friendly, especially Jose, the shuttle driver. As we did not have our own transport, we made ample use of the shuttle service and it was invaluable in getting us in and out of downtown New Haven. On the one occasion we were too late for the return shuttle, it was a $10 taxi ride back out to the hotel, so the shuttle is a great service for a hotel in this location.

I would definitely stay here again, especially if I was coming with my family. If they extend wifi to the suites and add a kettle, it would be a five star review!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzieteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
1.2 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.7 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.6 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Village Suites

Address: 3 Long Wharf Dr, New Haven, CT 06511-5900 (Formerly New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $130 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Village Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven Village Suites is a sparkling, AAA Three Diamond rated, independent New Haven hotel. The hotel's residential village-like setting offers guest spacious suites and a Clubhouse for gathering. The Studio Suites are 50% larger than a typical hotel room. New Haven Village Suites specializes in lodging for Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, area business, government or family travel. We also offer excellent optsion for employee relocations, temporary assignments or projects, emergency accommodations and a variety of medical lodging needs for the New Haven area. Our full hot breakfast buffet offered daily satisfies the hungriest travelers, and a light dinner from 5:30- 7:00 pm Monday through Wednesday is also provided. Other amenities include ample parking, local area shuttle service, business center, Wi-Fi (Clubhouse), fitness center, local calls, and friendly daily housekeeping service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your New Haven Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haven Premiere Hotel New Haven
Premiere Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing