We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“price only” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Haven Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“price only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

survived a night price only redeeming factor. Grouchy clerk epitomizes spirit of a hotel, the clerk says is filled, yet there are almost no cars anywhere around. When we came back saying we wanted to leave, the after midnight staff got us a better room. Rated location good cause it was right near the highway so we could get out quickly.

Room Tip: stay in the building where you check in. Don't even look at the building on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadster38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    6
    64
See reviews for
29
14
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I think it is hilarious how some people write on this website telling everyone how this is a wonderful place to stay. This has got to be a hoax! This place is just plain nasty! I don't know how anyone could stay here on purpouse and not realize that there are mattresses and garbage standing up in most of the rooms. There are drug dealers living here and hookers too. Doesn't anyone realize this?? Just look at this place, if anyone thinks this place is nice than I believe they are on something.

Room Tip: Don't ever go here!!!!!! Nasty place!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen197923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Haven hotels

Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked a room expecting a decent enough facility for a one night stay with our family and dog. We drove up to the building to find not a single car in the lot, holes in the building/windows patched with plywood and dirty/torn curtains hanging from the windows. We did not feel safe enough for our family to get out of the car, let alone stay the night, in this facility. Thank goodness we were able to drive to Hamden to find a hotel that took us in. The information and pictures from this site are totally misleading and false advertising. We have never experienced anything like this before. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dkanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleton, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very convenient location. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I left my phone charger at the hotel. I phoned them and they sent my phone charger to my home immediately. I stayed a total of four nights and the cost was $259 - very affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 111frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The service was very good when I stayed at the Econo Lodge. I believe no one can complain about any of the employees services. They ra friendly, helpful, and eager to help.
I spend a good night over there. I want to pay my appreciation to their assistance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Do not stay here. Do not make the same mistake I made.
I saw the other reviews, and most reviews said do not stay in this hotel. However, considering the lower cost, and looking at the nice pictures and amenities described on the Choice Hotel website, I was still attracked to book this hotel against those warnings. Big mistake!!

The photos must be from 10 years ago when the hotel was first built, because the place is a run down, and neither the room nor the buildings are anywhere close to the nice pictures on the website. The "heated indoor pool" is in the abandoned building of the "conference rooms" full of broken glasses and dust. A whole building at the back was also boarded up with broken windows. They don't have any laundry facility but still advertised "laundry facility on the property". Things mentioned on the website about the hotel are just lies after lies.
The front desk Indian staff was completely UN-friendly, maintained a cold face and had no desire to even talk to his guests. Very UN-welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriendlyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family and I had to travel to CT from PA, My mother was having a very delicate surgery, I booked online using my choice points, I called and ask the person on the phone that I was coming from PA and I wasn't sure what time we would be there, he said "not a problem we would change your stay if you get here after midnight... we got there at 5am due to traffic and construction...when we got there I told the person on the counter about the change of stay, this person said he couldn't change my stay and check-out was at 11am; We were all so tired, when we got to the room, the a/c wasn't working that well and the bathroom door was dirty; I called back at 10:30am and asked for a late check-out: I was told 1pm the key better be at the counter... this was very unprofessional, I was so tired throught the day...We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPaez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.4 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
4.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
2.8 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.0 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Inn

Property: New Haven Inn
Address: 100 Pond Lily Ave, New Haven, CT 06515-1106 (Formerly Econo Lodge Conference Center - New Haven)
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — New Haven Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your New Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Conference Center - New Haven Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing