We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Haven Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale(New Haven)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$144
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$84
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Haven Hotel(New Haven)
$229
$181
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
2
5
5
7
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
5
5
7
72
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 91 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Was totally disappointed. Can tell they're trying to fix it up, but we got stuck in a very stinky smoker's room. Hotel half empty, but wouldn't put us in new room. Paid up front for 4 nights; couldn't stand smell and left after 3rd night; they refused to refund money. Would never recommend or stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn3Sacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed August 10th to the 11th for a visit to Yale University. In a secluded area, however the Lobby had to be opened from the inside. There were some rowdy people next door, and it seems that New Haven is just like any other city. Lobby seemed remodeled, and the hotel must have been really nice in the 1970's. Pool was not cleaned, and water was green with bacteria. Rooms were decent, although facility was old. Breakfast was simple, but they had juice, coffee, and some baked goods. Overall decent stay given the price.

Room Tip: Ask for Non-Smoking, in the newer wing.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shahpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Have you ever had that gut feeling that you should not be somewhere? Well this is it. Looked like they were in the process of renovating. The room was fairly clean. Indoor pool was not. The location is horrible.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank ninja373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Where do I begin?

1) The noise outside at all hours? (3AM, people yelling)
2) The construction noise on the roof before 7AM on a Sunday?
3) The door that had no deadbolt, just the "chain" that any fool could probably break?
4) The non-existent wireless internet?
5) No closet??? I'm supposed to hang clothes in the sink area? (Where the hangars were located) Are you serious??
6) The "interior corridor"?? To me, a door that opens to the outside does not have an interior corridor.
7) The sofa bed that wasn't there?
8) The queen beds. Not really. <LOL>
9) Breakfast? Until only 9AM on a Sunday? Of course given #1 and #2 above, maybe it's reasonable to expect that NO ONE would sleep in on Sunday there.
10) No outlets to plug in an electronic device. Well, ok there really wasn't an internet so..
11) No chair other than the one at the desk.
12) No coffee maker (as promised) in the room
13) Empty tissue dispenser
14) Shabby carpeting, etc

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank rhb617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were taking our son on some college visits. Money was tight. I booked this hotel through Choice Hotels, never checked the reviews. Big Mistake! We arrived at 12:30am after driving 7 hours in the rain. We were exhausted. We got to our room and I couldn't believe it. The place is run down, grafitti on the walls, the fridge and microwave they claim to have either don't exist or are broken. As we were getting ready to settle in I decided to check the windows...the one wouldn't lock, anyone could open it and get in. I called and asked if we could have a board or something to cram in the window to keep us safe, they offered us another room on the first floor. My son and I entered the room, dark, the light switch wasn't working, found a light and couldn't believe our eyes! I wish I had taken photos to post. This was worse, by far, from the original room. Holes in the walls, from where towel bars and other things had been ripped from the walls. It was horrible. At this point I was not happy. I went back to the desk and he offered to come with us to find another room. Back to the second floor...the room was ok, not very clean, run down, old, and the lock/latch on the door didn't work great...but it was ok for the night. I would never ever recommend this particular hotel to anyone. It was nasty. We didn't even touch the food on our way out in the morning, due to the smell in the lobby. Let's just say...this hotel is being run by people who came to this country for the "american dream'...they are living the high life while ripping off the americans. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hunpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews