We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Goodfellas Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 558 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
572 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Took a chance on this place when our chosen place had a 45 minute wait time.
Very friendly waiter who offered us 50% off a bottle of very drinkable wine.
We ordered items that were not part of the menu and they fulfilled it exactly. Certainly not five star but we enjoyed our meal and it was very inexpensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    70
    33
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great food, great service, and very reasonable prices. Meatballs for appetizer were excellent, and the chicken parmigiana was a huge portion (no way to eat it all). Overall a wonderful meal

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobi_LongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've been there about 5 times now, and each time I've had really great food - Chilean Sea Bass is great, Beggar's Purses are outstanding, and their desserts are delicious. Great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food is good, they rush you out”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

we have eaten here on two big occasions and the food has been good, the service is pretty good. What bothers me is that they rush you out of your table and will say that "unfortunately, they will need the table soon" i couldn't believe that were rude enough to say that. We were on our way out anyway, and had been there what is considered a reasonable amount of time for our party size. As a restaurant it is their job to accommodate us and to figure out their seating and reservation timing accordingly. We spent a good amount of money there and i found that to be in very bad taste and have never experienced that at other more upscale restaurants. I'm not in a rush to return due to that rude act.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
659 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Another Good Italian Restaurant in New Haven”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

There are many good Italian restaurants in the New Haven area. Goodfellas is another example. The restaurant has a New York clubby feel to it. Dark tones, with textured walls. Waitstaff is professional. Tables were monitored to check on diners' needs. The food was generally good. For dinner we tried.. apps., meatballs with salad. Excellent, just like mamas. Also, Fiore de latte. Escarole wrapped around mozzarella with presciutto in a balsamic reduction. It sounds better than it tastes. Entrees, Jumbo Shrimp with pappardelle and beef. It was served Neopolitan style with capers and olives. Excellent. Cognac steak served on a portobella mushroom with mashed potatoes. Smallish portion, very rich. Meat was tender but really not flavorful. Desserts: cupcake, Excellent, a meal in itself. And cheesecake. It was good, no surprises. There were inconsistencies with the food. We will be back again, hopefully with a rave review.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARJACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodfellas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Goodfellas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing