We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday dinner”

Goodfellas Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 558 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My siblings and I took out mother here for her birthday dinner. They were wry accommodating to our large party on a Saturday evening. The waiter was very pleasant and quick. The atmosphere is nice, although I love the movie goodfellas it is a little weird to see it on the tv non stop while trying to enjoy a nice dinner.... My family sat upstairs for dinner where there are no tv's and it felt a little more elegant. The food was delicious and fairly priced. Special appetizers were good. Overall this was a great night out and I would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drewsoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    70
    33
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrific Italian”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went with a family of five (3 teenage boys). They were just opening their second floor dining room, so it was a bit crazy with an hour wait after our reservation time. They made up for it with complimentary appetizers and salads. All the Italian dishes were very fresh and pasta seemed home made. The calamari was cooked to perfection and could have made a whole meal. The Italian waiter was the read thing and very courteous and professional.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cdestree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison ct
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The bread was excellent. The drinks were great. The food was good, but 3 shrimp does not a dinner make. 3 shrimp on a bed of very good pasta was a bit skimpy. Calamari new York style was tremendous. No TVs in the upstairs room, which is fine, but that was one of the attractions (gimmicks?) of the restaurant. Price wise it was ok. Overall the food was good but not great.

Helpful?
Thank RichFisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere, food, and service. A great place for a special occasion or a night out. I recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry I, Owner at Goodfellas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks for the great 5 star review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Near-Perfect Restaurant, but it can bite back!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We made a reservation the day of our dinner (a Tuesday evening). We began with a drink at the bar, which was sophisticated and offered a variety of well-mixed cocktails. The hostes and maitre d' were friendly and professional-- in fact perhaps one of the most professional maitre d's I've seen outside of Europe! Our server added tremendously to our experience- he was helpful and professional... and the food was nothing short of amazing.

So, what is the bite? Two things. First of all, I have a strong dislike for restaurants that have televisions in the dining area. I think TVs have a place in the bar, but if I am out for a lovely dinner, I have no interest in watching TV or being distracted by one (in their defense, the TVs were all playing Goodfellas and other Italian-mob-themed movies). The second bite was the surprise on our bill. Two of us ordered the veal chop special which was stated as being M/P. We assumed it would be slightly more than the traditional entrees, but the veal chop was more than double the cost of most entrees, coming in at $65. The veal chop was truly wonderful, but 65? We aren't in New York!

PS- If you like crab cakes, I highly recommend them as an appetizer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karissavantassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry I, Owner at Goodfellas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and five star review!!! The M/P for our veal chop for the week you dined with us was $32.95. As stated in your review, you had two veal chop dinners. Therefore the $65 charge was for two veal chops dinners. Hope that clears up any confussion and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodfellas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Goodfellas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing