We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Near downtown, Yale & a Nice B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farnam Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Farnam Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 New Haven B&B and Inns
Penn Yan, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Near downtown, Yale & a Nice B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were looking for downtown accommodations near City Hall & Yale and this was perfect, especially if you appreciate the charm of old houses. We had the Farnam room, which was lovely with a nicely renovated private bathroom. While the room faced the road, it was not a busy street later at night, so street noise wasn't an issue for us. While the house was full, other guests were considerate and the evenings were quiet. Our breakfast the first day was delicious. The second morning was not as good but still OK. Coffee was fresh and plentiful, and you could help yourself to evening beverages. We found Elizabeth very friendly and she offered great suggestions for restaurants, both of which we enjoyed. We arrived early and the entry system was a little tricky but once you figured it out, it was fine and we liked having the extra security. We would certainly return if we need to be in the downtown area.

Room Tip: There are rooms with shared baths, and private baths are a bit more expensive. Be sure to check
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeukaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
30
26
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Dirty bathroom especially on the third floor. Greasy and gross kitchen. Dusty mirror and spider web in the bedroom. Street noise. Low speed internet. Cheap frozen breakfast and fruits from Costco. I stayed there for a couple of days and they did not even clean the room or change the sheets. The worst part is the innkeeper, Elizabeth, who was very rude and inconsiderate. She made me feel so unwelcome (and I paid a lot for it) Will not return.

If you plan to be in New Haven for more than 1 day, DO NOT stay at this place. Let me say it again. They will not clean or make your bed. Shared dirty bathroom and kitchen will be your worse nightmare. Trust me. It's not worth your money!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness. Even though they have laundry for you to use, it is never available, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
500 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very enjoyable stay!
After a rough start of having been sent the wrong door code and not being able to reach the owner, everything else was perfect.
We stayed in the Farnam room, facing Prospect street, which a previous review complained of the street noise, we had no problem, nice and quiet and we even had the windows open.
Great bed, nice accessories like the thick towels and quality shampoo and conditioners.
This was our type of B and B, with the owner not trying to tell us stories and history the whole visit.
Breakfast was good and simple we have gotten a bit tired of the huge servings and giant omlets.
Would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle1906Rose, Owner at Farnam Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for taking the time to post a review! It sounds like you frequent B&Bs, so the fact that we were able to impress you is high praise — thanks again. We hope you can take some time away from Texas and come visit again!

All the best,
Elizabeth Baehr Lopez, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in a room facing Prospect St. and it was so very noisy all night long. Trucks and cars were stopping at the stop light all night long and it was VERY noisy. The internet barely worked and we could not sent our edited papers out. It was clean, and the breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back yard if you want it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levinfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the Douglas Orr room which was absolutely gorgeous. We found it to be very clean and the bed to be very comfy. The linens and pillow covers smelled amazing.

The breakfast was one of the best. My daughter had her first bacon there and loved it. The bacon was very crispy and the eggs were great. Elizabeth was very hospitable and it was lovely meeting her.

All in all a great place and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Douglas Orr room was very good and is located on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HansYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed in the shared bath bedroom at the top of the house. My biggest worry was getting my luggage up the stairs but they have an elevator. The room was clean and comfortable and the bath always spotless.

The Yale Shuttle, a free bus, stops at the corner and it was so easy to get downtown. The shuttle driver was most obliging and friendly to everyone. Yale is a real multi-cultural spot and he was responsive to everyone.

The guest house had wifi (very fast), and was clean, beautiful, and comfortable. The hostess, Elizabeth, was friendly and informative and very pleasant. Coffee was great and breakfast was good. My only suggestion would be to serve only fresh fruit in the fruit starter at breakfast -- forget the frozen fruit.

All in all, a very pleasant three day stay that was most comfortable and I would definitely stay there again. Beautiful yard, beautiful house, beautiful setting!

Room Tip: If you have a family, they have a great family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenGrMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My aunt and I got stuck overnight in New Haven and we decided to stay here (it was about a year ago). We had a lovely relaxing time! The room was attractive, and comfortable, and the hostess was very amiable. They even accommodated my kosher diet by allowing me to cook my own food on my own pots and pans in the kitchen during breakfast service! I hope to return really soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book online and save! I would have given a higher value rating if we hadn't just walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigayil337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
1.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.7 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.5 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnam Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnam Guest House

Property: Farnam Guest House
Address: 616 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-2004
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnam Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Farnam Guest House. Located on Prospect Hill, this elegant, remarkable mansion offers a gracious stay in New Haven’s Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Farnam Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnam Guest House Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing