We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If street noise keeps you awake, avoid!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farnam Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Farnam Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 New Haven B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If street noise keeps you awake, avoid!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in a room facing Prospect St. and it was so very noisy all night long. Trucks and cars were stopping at the stop light all night long and it was VERY noisy. The internet barely worked and we could not sent our edited papers out. It was clean, and the breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back yard if you want it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levinfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
31
26
14
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the Douglas Orr room which was absolutely gorgeous. We found it to be very clean and the bed to be very comfy. The linens and pillow covers smelled amazing.

The breakfast was one of the best. My daughter had her first bacon there and loved it. The bacon was very crispy and the eggs were great. Elizabeth was very hospitable and it was lovely meeting her.

All in all a great place and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Douglas Orr room was very good and is located on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HansYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed in the shared bath bedroom at the top of the house. My biggest worry was getting my luggage up the stairs but they have an elevator. The room was clean and comfortable and the bath always spotless.

The Yale Shuttle, a free bus, stops at the corner and it was so easy to get downtown. The shuttle driver was most obliging and friendly to everyone. Yale is a real multi-cultural spot and he was responsive to everyone.

The guest house had wifi (very fast), and was clean, beautiful, and comfortable. The hostess, Elizabeth, was friendly and informative and very pleasant. Coffee was great and breakfast was good. My only suggestion would be to serve only fresh fruit in the fruit starter at breakfast -- forget the frozen fruit.

All in all, a very pleasant three day stay that was most comfortable and I would definitely stay there again. Beautiful yard, beautiful house, beautiful setting!

Room Tip: If you have a family, they have a great family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenGrMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My aunt and I got stuck overnight in New Haven and we decided to stay here (it was about a year ago). We had a lovely relaxing time! The room was attractive, and comfortable, and the hostess was very amiable. They even accommodated my kosher diet by allowing me to cook my own food on my own pots and pans in the kitchen during breakfast service! I hope to return really soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book online and save! I would have given a higher value rating if we hadn't just walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigayil337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was our second stay at the Farnam Guest House and we can't say enough good things about the facilities. The accommodations were lovely and Elizabeth was welcoming and gracious. Breakfast was delicious. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer and hope to be able to return and stay for several days. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

If visiting NewHaven this is a fabulous place to stay. We found the B&B extremely clean and very comfortable. We were travelling with two small children and there was more than enough room in our bedroom and the large king size bed was very compfortable. The breakfast was over and above what you would expect at a B&B and the service was great. The owner was extremely helpful with any questions we had.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macgij1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We visited Yale in September and we chose Farnam Guest House to spend the night close-by the campus. The house itself is very spacious and the garden is very well-kept as well. We had rooms B and C and were very happy about the quality of the mattress and pillows. The rooms were rather smallish but made excellent do seeing that we were only there to spend the night.

Breakfast was lovely on both mornings. We always got a freshly made fruit salad for starters and then got either eggs or pancakes. The jams on the breakfast table were absolutely delicious as well. One thing we did miss when breakfasting, was toast. However, we did not explicitly ask for toast so perhaps we would have gotten it if we had asked.

The innkeeper was very nice; she had the perfect combination of making us feel at home but was also very gracious to leave us by ourselves at other times.

The inn might belocated a bit to far from Yale for older people, but as the weather was very pleasant in September we did a 20-minute walk to the campus. Parking the car in downtown New Haven also wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
1.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
2.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.7 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.5 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnam Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnam Guest House

Property: Farnam Guest House
Address: 616 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-2004
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnam Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Farnam Guest House. Located on Prospect Hill, this elegant, remarkable mansion offers a gracious stay in New Haven’s Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Farnam Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnam Guest House Hotel New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing