We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Rock Park is for Bird Watchers”
Review of East Rock Park

East Rock Park
Ranked #6 of 59 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“East Rock Park is for Bird Watchers”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The greatest attraction of East Rock Park is the last week in April and the first 2 weeks in May when thousands of Neo-Tropical Migrants (warblers and their kin) pass through. The Park has been given IBA (Important Birding Area) status by the Am Audubon Society.

It also has wonderful hiking trails, baseball fields, a monument on top and wonderful views. Let us also not forget the "Giant Steps".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    41
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The go to place during fall!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I love going here during fall when the leaves are yellow, red, brown, and green. I walk here and go all the way to the top and just sit there watching the view and relaxing my mind. Its a place where you get away from all the headaches and busy work life and just zone out in the morning fall breeze. The best day is on sunday because then your always looking forward to the sunday football games its the best season of the year. This was from personal point of view but that's what I think of this place, I am so glad I have this place to come to in New Haven.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Honestly, not a lot to do here but enjoy the great view, on a clear day. Drive to the top, take a stroll around the monument, enjoy the view, and you've done most of it. Seems to attract motorcyclists, which is not an all together bad thing at all, but it can get loud.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonypicc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“People gave New Haven Yale, the gods gave it East Rock”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

You don't see geology like this much of anywhere. Volcanic intrusion way below the surface millions of years ago. Climb the giant steps on the south side to the top (careful for snakes in early spring), or drive up the back. All New Haven, and the Long Island Sound, stretch out before you. At the base is a fine park with great runs, tennis, room for baseball and Frisbee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MackSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“East Rock”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

There is really nothing special about the park. There is an OK view from the top. Not really a place that I woudl go out of my way to see.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank QUTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Rock Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing