We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait but good beer and pizza”
Review of Bru Rm At BAR

Bru Rm At BAR
Ranked #73 of 560 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Long wait but good beer and pizza”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Unless you are a college student and have time to wait make a reservation. My negatives- We were told a 35 minute wait and over 50 minutes later are still waiting.

Also hostess was barely pleasant and pointed to our table when it was time for us to be seated

Positives- Our server who did not introduce himself was pleasant and approached us immediately.

Stoudt beer is very very good. We ordered the white with tomatoes cheese, basil and garlic (medium) and white with mashed potatoes and bacon (small). Pizzas were sizable and good.

They do card so if you are under 21 go with an adult

Pizza was good but we live near Philadelphia and love Tacconnelli's so the comparison is hard (but we still love tacconnellis more)"

The prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beanobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    55
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Salad alright Pizza”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went to here to eat some mashed potato and bacon pizza, but it was the salad that stole the show. It was simply the right blend of everything and surprisingly sweet. The place is a bit pricey for just pizza and salad. I did not try the home brews. The waitresses were anxious and kept offering us seats at the bar when we wanted a table. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best salad in New Haven”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Bar is a very hip restaurant featuring New Haven style thin crust pizza. They are known for their craft beers and pizza. The mashed potato pizza is wonderful- it is great without bacon but somehow is pushed over the top with the addition of salty bacon. Their "bar salad" with pears, blue cheese and candied nuts is delicious. They offer a "family" size salad that is the size of a mixing bowl. Nearly every time I have gone, I have been told "45 minute wait." Often it is not that long of a wait. You can also ask to sit in the back for additional seating earlier in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondsville, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great New Haven pizza without the long wait for a table”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having visitors from the Southwest in our group, they wanted to experience a great pizza; but not requiring an hour plus wait. As Bru Rm takes reservations and was recommended highly, the problem of the wait was solved, but will the pizza rival the places on Wooster Street. As our group was coming in three cars from three different directions, not everyone was going to arrive on time. No problem as they seated the ones present for the reservation and held the table for the remainder of the party even though construction caused one group to be almost an hour late. With a dozen people in our group, four large pizzas were ordered with each one having different items on each half. For ordering the pizzas, first you specify if the base is going to be red or white. After this is determined, you can cherry pick your toppings. Great way to keep everyone happy and allowing for one half to be clams and the other half having basil and fresh tomatoes No one wanted to order mashed potato, even though it is tempting for a future visit. While waiting for the pizza, both the Toasted Blonde and AmBAR Ale were ordered. Both were very good. Pizza crust was crispy, but not too crispy so one could not taste the dough. Very good service and a dozen people left with a very good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This unpretentious restaurant in New Haven was recommended by several locals, so we gave it a try for an early dinner on a Friday evening. The place was empty when we arrived, but by the time we left it was packed with a long line waiting. I guess it has a great reputation in the area. The pizza was a large rectangular shape and very tasty. The beer (home-brewed) was very good as well. I'm glad we stopped here after visiting Yale University for the day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stressfreegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru Rm At BAR also viewed

 

Been to Bru Rm At BAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing