We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable in all aspects” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage American Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Sage American Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable in all aspects”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice view and a lively place. There food was average overall. My steak was prepared as I requested and the veggies were good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodiefan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    21
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, CT
Level Contributor
314 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice waterfront dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

It's nice to be able to relax and enjoy a beautiful view and to enjoy a good meal as well. Sage American Bar & Grill does just that!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service and not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Terrible service and the food is extremely salty and horribly prepared. It is a shame because it is a beautiful location but we will not go back.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Que Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good to Average American Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Go here if you are tired of Italian food because there are plenty of Italian restaurants which I favor instead of this restaurant

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CuzinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location but food was only average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Sage is located on the water in New Haven. The location and atmosphere are wonderful. We went for a family dinner with 14 people. I had the stuffed shrimp and it was very average. Others in the party felt the same. The waitress seemed stressed and kept bringing us the wrong drinks. This might be a better bet for drinks or appetizers.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank puffingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage American Bar & Grill also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing