We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused to Serve Us even thought restaurant was open with empty tables”
Review of Basil Restaurant

Basil Restaurant
Ranked #126 of 634 Restaurants in New Haven
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Should be no stars - Worst place ever - DO NOT GO. Get there at 7:30pm pay to park, open sign in the window is lit up, walk inside, many open tables and they tell us they are not serving because they have a large order to take care of. Are u kidding me, they refused to serve us. What a JOKE, how do you refuse to serve customers while u are still open?

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2019

Basil's is quite popular, not only for sit-down, but also for take out. The menu is a bit limited, but it's a small restaurant. Some dishes may be regional specialties, such as the salt fish. Decent sized portions, but nothing fancy.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank auntiearwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

Restaurant with efficient service located around the corner from the Marriott. Avoid the dumplings, which had too much dough around the filling. The noodle soup was somewhat satisfying, not memorable. I ranked as high as a three because price is very reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GB2016a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

food is inexpensive and pretty good. A lot of yale students eat there and i would recommend people try it out

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank dcgdougyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

Restaurant was next to our hotel and had good reviews so I tried it. Had the Vietnamese beef noodle soup and the pork buns appetizer. Huge portions, good quality, waitress was super friendly and I walked out for less than $10(minus tip). Win!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank V2233WSjennifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Basil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing