We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar foor”

Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 565 Restaurants in New Haven
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Seymour, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great bar foor”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good fresh foor and very good wings and beer. I stop here every few weeks for lunch and the Milford location on the weekends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
�G|ϗϨ�
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
539 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Still hands down the best wings”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been to other Archie's but the one on willow street is the best of the group. Every wing is heaven on earth. Certainly they rank as the top wing place in the US. It is also a great early American Irish bar

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steverA8718SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Mediocre at best. The food did not taste freshly cooked. Also it is in need of a remodel. I wish I could be more positive, but the management needs improvement.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank silverguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A nice place for lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A nice restaurant - bar with a young, energetic vibe. Somewhat on the noisy side, but that only adds to the ambiance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank keck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect down to the fries and pickle”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

On a visit to the neighborhood, we were looking for a pub-like place that served a decent burger. I found this place on my mobile Foursquare app. We arrived on a Sunday at opening bell.

Because my husband and I aren't big eaters or big portion eaters, I should say, we decided to split an order of Paul's Steak and Cheese. It arrived promptly on two places, nicely cut in half with a generous mound of fries and a whole pickle on each. Now that is customer service.

The fries were done so well, there was a very distinct crunch on the bite that led to a tasty softness inside. And lightly salted, too. The pickle was crunchy and fresh and came in handy for toning down the bite of the hot peppers on the sandwich. It was like a little game: hot, cool, hot, cool. Fun! The sandwich was delicious with tender beef and grilled onion and cheese on a really great roll.

The atmosphere was friendly (we sat at the bar) with the bartender conversing with all of us (4 total) seated there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nina9153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing