We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The way Chinese food should be!”
Review of House of Chao

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
House of Chao
Ranked #274 of 558 Restaurants in New Haven
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The way Chinese food should be!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

House of Choa is great!

The food is flavorful, made to order & I've never had anything I didn't like there.

Their Sesame Beef is like a savory candy. Their Hunan vegetables are spicy, but not too hot as you can't enjoy them. And their signature House of Choa chicken is amazing; made with real chunks of chicken breast, Chinese vegetables & brown sauce.

The decor is poor and it is a small place, but the food more than makes up for it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've never had a bad meal here. I've tried most things on the menu and everything has been great. I've been told it used to be better a long time ago. It must've been unbelievable then because it's fantastic now. I highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank treylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better than average Chinese”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Ambiance: somewhere between zero and one. But excellent takeout, with lots of interesting dishes not seen elsewhere. Recommended if you're in the mood for Chinese.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old fashion USA Chinese food, that is still pleasing to eat”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This little restaurant in the Westville section of New Haven has been the same for years. You can depend on the low price menu that includes tea, and a fortune cookie. Their lunch specials can not be beat and the servers are always pleasant . It's a great take out place as well. Enjoy their Chinese food in a cozy little restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodbridgeFoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old standby”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

House of Chao is unpretentious, good, reliable. It won't win any national awards, but it fills the bill; and in a city with a surprising dearth of really good Chinese restaurants, it is actually a standout. We have takeout from H of C on average once a month: Szechuan tofu, moo shu vegetables, steamed dumplings, and Chinese eggplant with garlic sauce. Very satisfying, and not expensive.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank cwhig1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Chao also viewed

 

Been to House of Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing