We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh!!”

TRE Scalini Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 560 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: $19 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Ugh!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We were in New Haven to visit the Yale Art Museum and wanted to have a bite to eat before we left town. We made reservations here and looked forward to our dinner based on some of the reviews that we'd read here. However once we got to the restaurant everything changed. For the first time in nearly 10 years we get up and walked out of the restaurant before we been seated for even five minutes. The place smelled really badly. The carpets were old and musty! The menus handed to us were greasy and dirty. We felt so uncomfortable we couldn't even bear to take a sip of water. This is the dirtiest restaurant I've been in a long time. We quickly made the decision to get up and leave because if the dining room was this dirty what was the kitchen like? Of course I can't review the quality of the food, but had no interest in eating in a place this dirty. Stay away!!

Helpful?
6 Thank KitchenJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    24
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We had the fish specials and veal chop - all cooked perfectly. Service was outstanding - just the right amount of attention and time to relax. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. We went based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Food was delicious! We were a large party and Service was excellent, beyond accommodating! We asked for items that weren't on the menu, some people we were with had allergies and one was a vegan, and they went above and beyond.
Best dishes were the Osso Bucco and Zuppa di Pesce and Halibut.
Our waitress Vicki was very kind and knowledgeable about the menu. The place is beautiful and everyone is friendly only problem is parking is sometimes a pain.
I love this place! And the whole staff is easy on the eyes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancypepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dinner with the family”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a wonderful evening with our adult children. My veal was outstanding. Our daughter had a filet mignon. The wife had delicious salmon. Our son in law also had a very tasty veal. Service was great!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could have been in Italy”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is the real deal. Both of our meals were excellent. She had veal medallions with mushrooms (great sauce). I had lamb chops with fig based sauce.....mmmmm! Frutta di Mare antipasto was fresh and plentiful. Relaxed service and a passable Tartufo dessert completed my wife's birthday dinner. We'll go back again to try more on the interesting and diverse menu. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TRE Scalini Restaurant also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
New Haven, CT
 

Been to TRE Scalini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing