We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Haven Must”
Review of Zinc

Zinc
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 558 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between College and Temple Streets
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A New Haven Must”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We wanted a place to eat before going to see a play at The Yale Rep. Dinner was as good as the play !!! The atmosphere is very attractive and civilized. The waiter and all the staff were gracious and attentive. Our meal was really special- smoked duck nachos were light and delicious. Another fabulous appetizer of tuna and shrimp was creatively executed. We split an entree of scallops with a lemony risotto (with asparagus). Oh, I forgot to mention the tasty bread with a marvelous dipping sauce.
Zinc is so close to all the exciting things to see at Yale. A place to remember and to revisit. Enjoy !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    92
    30
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Exceeds Expectations for Great Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I visit Zinc at least bi-monthly because who can resist great food and who wants to miss their seasonal specials! The menu is always updated to reflect in season and local produce. Yet, taste is never compromised. The decor, drinks, service, and food presentation add to the masterfully cooked appetizers, main courses and desserts. In fact, cheating on your diet is well worth it, as the desserts are phenomenal.

Helpful?
Thank JanetBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Level Contributor
174 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not that impressive, lots of glitz, mediocre food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Another restaurant that attempts to impress and simply does not. The meals sound much more interesting than they taste. The atmosphere is kind of Disney-like. Why would anyone eat here if they could eat at the Union League Cafe instead?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good kitchen, atmosphere unexciting”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

As new resident to New Haven I am still working my way down the restaurant list, and Zinc had been on my to-do for some time. Today was the day, an early dinner with my daughter. What first catches your eye entering zinc is - not much. The decor is dark, in I guess what is described as a minimalist/modern touch with dark wood, mirrors and of course some obligatory zinc. With some candles and flowers it might exude some sex appeal in the later evening...but without it the atmosphere does not exude much character at all. It is restaurant week in New Haven, and as this was my first Zinc stop, I'm not sure what impact this had on the menu offering. We chose the 3 course menu, and had a glass of open steel chardonnay from the list. A good start. For me it was grilled shrimp first - 3 good sized and very tasty ones served with some minced red beet and seasoning. As a main course we both had the braised beef - served on french string beans, with a "pistachio -bernaise" creme sauce - interesting - and again perfectly seasoned, prepared and very tasty. My dessert was an apple crisp with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream - this was a bore - not bad, but heavy on the sugar and nothing else to set it apart. My daughter had the chocolate mousse cake, which was likewise good - but not to write home about. The coffee was excellent - I mention this as I am fussy with my coffee after living 30 years in Europe. Service was friendly, not overbearing and attentive - my only complaint here is that at least in the evenings, a waiter should not serve the bill in the middle of dessert - wait until it is asked for if your guests are obviously in no rush - don't make them feel you can't wait for their table to be free !! Some of us like to relax at dinner - have espresso or coffee afterwards, and maybe even an after dinner drink. Overall a solid culinary performance, but in my estimation more effort may be required to compete with that volatile Frenchman a block down the street.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoellviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, wine, service in NH”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Never dined in New Haven before and needed a central location for a group dinner for 7. This turned out to be an excellent find. The decor is contemporary zinc table tops and menus - casual but very nicely done. The menu offered a great diversity of interesting food for all. I had chicken/mushroom sausage over wild rice with chopped corned beef (of all things). Others had sushi grade tuna, etc. The wine list is very good for a restaurant this size; again a diverse list of good wines with some nice value selections at the lower price ranges as well as fine wines from around the world. Service was outstanding - our server, although quite busy, was always smiling, listening carefully to questions and food allergies, and attentive to every need with a very pleasant positive attitude. Pricing was ok, certainly commensurate with the menu and service ($26-$35 main dishes). Free (validated) parking in a garage behind the restaurant was a definite plus, given the location. Absolutely no negatives - we will go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing